We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”
Review of Hall Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hall Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived with our trailer (coming from performing a play so had the set with us lol) and rather than suggesting parking our hosts arranged and helped carry it onto their patio and provided a chain and padlock to secure to the fencing!
Our room was very comfortable, the towels were large and fluffy, lovely hospitality tray and flat screen tv (when we worked out the remote controls!).Excellent power shower.
Lovely breakfast with proper toast not the limp white stuff often served.
Very friendly proprietors; they deserve all the praise they receive; they certainly work hard for it as do all the staff we encountered.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was on the main road side so perhaps noisier than others until the traffic subsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DizzyMiss69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    19
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
39
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

a great find -i was welcomed by name -made to feel welcome in the bar and had a spotless room and a really comfortable bed .the breakfast was excellent with a great variety of choice including lots of freshly cut fruit and a full english(as well as a veggie option )and the whole place had a wonderful family feel to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenlane16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

From the proprietress, Sue. Nothing too much trouble. On letting her know our arrival time and that we were coming by train, she offered to collect us at the railway station. She is surely in line for the hotelier of the year award!
We asked for a quiet room, and were given one at the side of the hotel - perhaps a little on the small side, and not one that had recently been refurbished, as some we saw had been. Excellent hospitality tray - much better than the 4* hotel we had just come from. All the staff were friendly - when the proprietress was there everything was well and personally overseen, too.
Good breakfasts. There is no restaurant - evening meals (mostly grills) are served in the bar or breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hostess was very kind, friendly and most helpful. Our room was simply super. Very spacious and convenient on the ground floor. Lovely pub dinnder there. The breakfast was lovely. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Only stayed for one night but was greeted by name, checked in and in the bar within minutes. At only £2.50 a pint, I was over the moon.
Room was clean and had everything you could want. Its not 5* luxury but it does the job.
Only drawback was the poor quality toilet paper, but that said, the other (more expensive) hotel we stayed in had the same and the bed may need a new mattress soon!!!
Great breakfast and again friendly staff. Manager even offered to drop us off at a church for the wedding we were in town for.
highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hall Park in Workington, a modest sized hotel that endeavours to give the best experience it can to its guests. Very clean rooms, spotless en suite with powerful showers and a comfy bed in a large well appointed room. The welcome was personal and friendly and the breakfast service fast and courteous with the food being substantial and well presented.. All in all this hotel strives to impress and succeeds. There is a slight downside to the hotel's central location in that it is on a busy road...but it didn't disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsdenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. Convenient location and helpful staff.

Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youtalkin2me82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Workington hotels
0.5 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
164 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Park Hotel

Property: Hall Park Hotel
Address: 23 Carlton Road, Workington CA14 4BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Workington
#1 Business Hotel in Workington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hall Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hall Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Park Hotel Workington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing