We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great cumbrian hospitality”
Review of Hall Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hall Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

a great find -i was welcomed by name -made to feel welcome in the bar and had a spotless room and a really comfortable bed .the breakfast was excellent with a great variety of choice including lots of freshly cut fruit and a full english(as well as a veggie option )and the whole place had a wonderful family feel to it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenlane16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 131 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

From the proprietress, Sue. Nothing too much trouble. On letting her know our arrival time and that we were coming by train, she offered to collect us at the railway station. She is surely in line for the hotelier of the year award!
We asked for a quiet room, and were given one at the side of the hotel - perhaps a little on the small side, and not one that had recently been refurbished, as some we saw had been. Excellent hospitality tray - much better than the 4* hotel we had just come from. All the staff were friendly - when the proprietress was there everything was well and personally overseen, too.
Good breakfasts. There is no restaurant - evening meals (mostly grills) are served in the bar or breakfast room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hostess was very kind, friendly and most helpful. Our room was simply super. Very spacious and convenient on the ground floor. Lovely pub dinnder there. The breakfast was lovely. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Only stayed for one night but was greeted by name, checked in and in the bar within minutes. At only £2.50 a pint, I was over the moon.
Room was clean and had everything you could want. Its not 5* luxury but it does the job.
Only drawback was the poor quality toilet paper, but that said, the other (more expensive) hotel we stayed in had the same and the bed may need a new mattress soon!!!
Great breakfast and again friendly staff. Manager even offered to drop us off at a church for the wedding we were in town for.
highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hall Park in Workington, a modest sized hotel that endeavours to give the best experience it can to its guests. Very clean rooms, spotless en suite with powerful showers and a comfy bed in a large well appointed room. The welcome was personal and friendly and the breakfast service fast and courteous with the food being substantial and well presented.. All in all this hotel strives to impress and succeeds. There is a slight downside to the hotel's central location in that it is on a busy road...but it didn't disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsdenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. Convenient location and helpful staff.

Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youtalkin2me82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This isn't a splendid hotel and it will never have - or want or need - lots of stars. It is what it is. And it was just about the most welcoming place I have ever stayed on business and I was very much looked after. Comfy and clean and the pictures on its website really don't do it justice. My room was large and decorated in a nicely neutral and modern style. Bed would benefit from a new mattress but the shower was strong and the towels were a proper size. I needed a packed lunch as where I was working didn't provide food. They gave me yummy rare roast beef salad sandwiches and lots of fruit. I felt like a valued customer and it's definitely where I shall now stay in Workington.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7. Large and bright with windows that opened and a very new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birthdaytreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Workington hotels
2.6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
180 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Park Hotel

Address: 23 Carlton Road, Workington CA14 4BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Workington
#1 Business Hotel in Workington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Price Range: $106 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hall Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hall Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Park Hotel Workington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing