We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay in a beautiful cottage - highly...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Robyn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wigton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
186356Ric...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in a beautiful cottage - highly recommended”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have just returned from a week away in Robyn Cottage. The house was ideal for our party of six (four adults and two children). The cottage was perfect. It was clean, well maintained and equipped with everything to make it home from home. We really could not fault it.

The house had three good bedrooms each with en suite - no fighting for the bathroom. Downstairs, the kitchen is modern and has everything you could need. So often we've been to holiday lets where we end up saying "I wish there was this..." or "why didn't they think of that..." but not here. Spot on.

The property is located about 25 minutes from Keswick, Carlisle and the Solway Firth. It's north of the lakes but still within easy driving distance; don't be put off by this as access to all of these was easy and trouble free and while we were that least, traffic free too.

We'd happily recommend Robyn Cottage. Many thanks to Elaine for her welcome and for allowing us to stay in her cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzanna15...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great relaxing holiday”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Owner very friendly and welcolming.
Property very clean and well maintained. Parking for 2 cars and space for children to play. Easy access from the road down a long concrete drive.
Plenty of shops in the local town of Wigton.
Close to the main attractions of the lake district and also to plenty of other quieter areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordel777
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay, friendly host”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. Great place to base our day trips from and perfect to come back to after an active day. Great hospitality from the host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ensuite rooms
Liked least: wifi was intermittent but I was meant to be getting away from it all!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C
1 review
“Lovely, Comfortable, Practical. Love it.”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our second stay here with our four of our grandchildren. Great accommodation, beautifully clean, comfortable, well appointed and practical. Lots to do locally, especially if you are outdoors type people. Owners Elaine and Bob are nice people, friendly, approachable, making sure we are happy and okay without being intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Time to do stuff with the kids.
Liked least: Didn't not like anything. Its on a working farm which may not suit everyone but we loved it.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Xmas break”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We went to the cottage as a family of 6 adults to spend Xmas.
The cottage was perfect.
Extremely clean and well presented.
Lovely log fire and very welcoming indeed..
The mountain biking at Whinlatter is well worth doing and plenty of good walking
The owners are very friendly and helpful and provided us with fresh milk from their dairy farm when we needed it.
We will definitely return .
Highly recommend

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d t
bham
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a beautiful place. I cannot rate it highly enough. Log fire, ensuites, superb quality throughout, lovely owner. Gorgeous horse in the field opposite who came for apples everyday. Actually nicest cottage aive ever stayed in.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTM613
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday house and hosts - makes magnificent memories”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband and three teenagers and we stayed at Robyn cottage for 2 glorious weeks. One of the best features (there are lots) has to be the owner, Elaine. She is so HELPFUL, friendly and kind, although never intrusive. E.g. she helped us research some outings, photocopied some detailed walks for us and even gave us a lift to the bus stop on the day that the family did different outings. There is a display of outing leaflets like you would get in a shop! The cottage was a delight, totally clean and it felt luxurious. The beds were particularly comfortable. Everything about it was faultless and each room having its own ensuite was a bonus. The showers are extremely powerful. The grassy area was nice and my teenage daughter made friends with Trooper the horse in the adjoining field and she enjoyed chats with his owner, Elaine's niece. We enjoyed the tour of the dairy farm given by Elaine's husband, it was so interesting and informative. There are lots of fantastic outings but be prepared that all are about 20+ minutes away. We did Go Ape, kayaking, climbing, railway, steamer etc.... The heating is very easy to manage and easy to keep at the temp that you like. The memories will keep us going till our next holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many things - so difficult to say..... maybe that we just settled in so well it felt so comfortable
Liked least: Leaving after 2 weeks
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing