We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done !”
Review of Greenhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wigton
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were at an evening wedding reception at this Hotel and the food was so lovely but what made it all the more special was the food for those in our party who were gluten/dairy free. The hotel provided some fabulous salads which made the rest of us quite jealous and there was also provision in the sweets for everyone. Well done Greenhill !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Singinggardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 232 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a super meal on our first visit the chips were just fantastic really great food the
bar area was really welcoming and cosy our waitress was really helpful and all in all was really good service . The second night we went we was not as good service not a problem still nice friendly lady but the area was cold no lighted candles lacked warmth.
My food was not as good i ordered the fish platter this was not a problem but the chips were hard
not the same as the ones on the first night maybe the chefs night off , was so good the first time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A lovely quiet hotel just a short drive from Carlisle. An exceptionally friendly welcome followed by great hospitality. Rooms were a little tired but certainly ok for the stay in such a fantastic old building. Food just delicious, so even if you're only passing we'd recommend you call in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have just returned from our second stay at this lovely hotel. Again, the food was absolutely amazing: huge portions of good old fashioned pub grub. The staff could not have been more down to earth or helpful, taking a real interest in us and our visit. A beautiful building in a picturesque setting just finishes it off. We will be back for a third stay next year. Thank you Greenhill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went with my parents for lunch on Tuesday.special menu on tuesdays,£9 for two cources.
As always the choice was great.The hotel is a beautiful building and everyone is made to feel welcome by the friendly staff,even if you are just there for a meal and not staying there.
The food is always good and I can honestly say that I have never had a bad meal there in the years that we have been there.
Mothers day lunch is a must each year and we always book well in advance to avoid missing out.
You may look at this hotel and think that stopping by for lunch would be too expensive but go in and give it a try,you will go back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank SeasickonUllswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at Greenhill hotel in June this year and we had a fantastic time. The support and service from the staff was excellent from booking the venue right up to our big day. They were so helpful and nothing was ever too much to ask. The food was great and the venue really catered for all our guests. Thank you for making our day so special and I would highly recommend booking this venue x

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lsroee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went for a 2course Tuesday Lunch Deal for £9. The food was delicious ,well presented and fresh.The hotel and its grounds are beautiful.The food came promptly .The hotel was quiet so would expect that.The menu for this deal was acceptable,the drinks are expensive almost £5 for 2soft drinks and one of those was soda and cordial. The girls serving were very pretty but had not a squat of interest in customer service,they did the bare minimum,we actually had a giggle at how bad one of them was ,she was that bad,I suspect she had interests in the kitchen that were more important. Would return ,without a doubt ,even for the comedy value.

Room Tip: Go on spoil yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amigolovelyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigton
0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
134 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
8.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
9.9 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
273 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#13 of 20 in Carlisle
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhill Hotel

Address: Red Dial, Wigton CA7 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wigton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wigton
Price Range: $123 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, central location to northern lakes & Southern Scotland. Georgian architecture, grade 2 listed building with great grounds and stunning features. Fresh seasonal food, Sunday lunches, afternoon teas, weddings, corporate & special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Greenhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenhill Hotel Wigton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing