We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek night”
Review of Monkey tree

Monkey tree
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Wigton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A beautiful Bistro/Deli offering wonderful food & service in a unique setting.Bringing a feel of the mediterranean to the U.KTapas evenings & occasional themed nightsFully licensed
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Greek night”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Went to Monkey Tree for Greek night. We have been before and love the food, atmosphere, style and staff. The food and wine, as always, was superb but it's a whole package at Monkey Tree. I cannot fault anything. Thanks to all at Monkey Tree.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Armstrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    15
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“best restaurant in Wigton”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Monkey tree is a great place to eat really fresh, tasty, home-made food and in my opinion is the best restaurant in Wigton and is just the kind of business the town needs.

dont go if you want pasties and chips. do go if you want tasty, fresh, flavoursome food with fresh ingredients served by friendly, helpful staff who have a pride in their business.

I've eaten here A LOT, mostly at lunch time but occasionally at one of the evening sessions and i have always enjoyed the food and the atmosphere.

definitely worth a visit - once wont be enough!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great meal”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great choice of tasty, freshly prepared food to suit everyone in our party. As always nothing is too much trouble for the staff. If dropping in for coffee and cake, tapas or a meal we have not been disappointed by the cosy, friendly deli/café. This time we had lunch - little pies, flan, quiches, lots of salad, wine, a good choice of desserts and fabulous coffee.
Thank you...we will be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hesket06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprised and delighted”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our day was made even more wonderful when by chance we stumbled upon this little gem. It was late in the day and we wanted something that would fill our bellies before returning to our B&B. The two lovely ladies gave us a very warm and friendly welcome, invited us to share a table with other people in the deli, then guided us around the delights of the food counter.
What was so amazing, that this little deli just oozed Taste, Colour, and the choice of food was awesome, home made, simple yet some of the best food I have sampled. If you find your way to the Far Northern Lakes then don't leave until you have taken refreshments here, you can eat in or they make Lunch Boxes to take out... If your around near closing time... Your in for a great treat... Won't say as I was so delighted and surprised by their generosity it made our visit one we will remember with huge smiles and warm memories... We will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Therapistme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valentines (Greek) ”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food.. Amazing service.. Brilliant Night ...Three starters.. Three Main courses.. Three Desserts.. Yum yumm & yumm

Helpful?
Thank Jenmacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey tree also viewed

 
Wigton, Cumbria
 

Been to Monkey tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing