We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas Break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wigton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LTID74
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Christmas Break”
Reviewed December 27, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely little place to stay, very comfortable and the lady who owns it is very friendly and welcoming. We didn’t go out much but this is what we wanted, the cottage has everything you’ll need. Would definitely recommend this beautiful cottage to anyone who is considering booking you won’t be disappointed. We will definitely be trying to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
686andrew...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great week away”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Old Grainstore for a recent family break. It is fair to say the accommodation surpassed our expectations, with some age appropriate toys and games provided for the kids, great outside space to play in and superb facilities.

Bedrooms were perfectly equipped for our needs, and were more spacious than the photos suggested.

Everything was in perfect condition on arrival, and the scones left for us were lovely.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and the kids really enjoyed feeding the calves on the farm.

If we plan to visit the area in the future we wouldn't look anywhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning - loved it!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottages, we hired both as we were a large crowd. Very well equipped had everything you could need. Both cottages were so clean and very comfortable. Joanne was very helpful and made a lovely apple crumble!! Will definitely visit again!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sco77ie
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation. Highly recommended!”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stay in many holiday homes across the country and this has to be, one of the best we have stayed in! Great for families with young children, especially in the warmer months with the garden and footballs, scooters and ride on tractor to play on. Fresh eggs, milk and cake upon arrival and amazingly clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly want or need whilst staying away. Highly recommended and excellent value. We look forward to returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaullaR
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well equipped comfortable property in good location with welcoming hosts”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Modern well equipped property, very comfortable, situated in a good location for exploring the north of the Lake District, Carlisle, Solway. Very welcoming and helpful hosts. Ranks with the best properties that we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome, comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elliottra...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over Easter 2016 in this wonderful cottage. The cottage itself is beautiful and the owners Joanne and Martin have thought of everything - we could not fault it. Comfy beds, great showers and large bath, well equipped kitchen and toys for the children with a safe play area outside. The Bairds are great hosts and could not be more helpful - the fresh farm eggs and cakes were a great welcome and the children enjoyed helping to feed the calves. The cottage is ideally located for the many attractions of the North Lakes and only 5 minutes from the small town of Wigton. There are some great county pubs and tea rooms near by. We will definitely be returning to the Old Grainstore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy, comfy and peaceful
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna M
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class accommodation”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I spent a week in this beautifully renovated old grainstore. The house was very well heated throughout, with excellent showers (plenty of hot water) and comfortable beds. The three bedrooms were nicely decorated and the whole house very clean. It was particularly good having two showers and three WCs. I found it to be very quiet (apart from the odd mooing of cows close by) and located in a lovely area with lots of things to see and do only a short drive away. All of the bedrooms, as well as the main bathroom and an en-suite WC, are upstairs. Each bedroom has a Velux window with a blind, as well as a window with curtains. The stairs are not too deep and were easily managed by my mum, who has a bad knee and sometimes find stairs difficult. I would gladly recommend this house to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a quiet part of Cumbria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved seeing cows outside my window every morning.
Liked least: The farm track into the property from the main road was rather rough in places.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing