We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wigton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ebvw
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Grainstore experience was excellent, the property is very clean, well presented, modern with character and met our needs perfectly. The family run farm is lovely, the owners Joanne and Martin are very welcoming but respect your privacy too, they are helpful and have provided a wealth of information on the surrounding area and places to visit. The farm dogs are a bonus in my opinion and happy to be fussed. The spacious layout in the Grainstore is a bonus and having 2 bathrooms with a 3rd toilet downstairs is advantageous.Would highly recommend this property to all parties, one of the best I have stayed in for a long time. Thank you for your hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CR3142
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5* accommodation with all the comforts of home.”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week in extremely comfortable and quality accommodation. We were greeted with homemade bread and scones, jam and freshly laid eggs. The owners Joanne and her husband were very friendly and helpful. The children loved the farm atmosphere and especially enjoyed feeding the calves. The cottage is well located to visit Carlisle, the Lake District and the Cumbrian coast. We had a very varied and interesting time and felt that there is so much to do that another visit is needed. We would certainly return to this area and highly recommend this accommodation. Everyone left feeling sad that the week had passed so quickly but the children were very happy with the gift of Easter eggs provided by Joanne,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louloulon
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at The Old Grainstore. We've stayed in many holiday cottages in the past and are very fussy. We are in our early. 30's and look for modern, clean places to stay that still have charm and character. This place fits the bill. Our expectations were not only met but exceeded. The family are very welcoming and friendly. The cottage itself is finished to a high standard and the cleanliness is second to none. Lovely surroundings too. What more could we ask for? We would not hesitate to return or recommend. Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super comfy bed with hotel feel bedding
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthAbbot...
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High-end self-catering property, perfectly located, suitable for ages in all seasons”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled from Cyprus to the UK for Christmas: 2 adults and 2 children aged 6 and 11, and then picked Granny up on our way! So with a group ranging from 6 to 72 years a lot of boxes needed to be ticked. The property is perfectly suited to explore the Lake District and the Scottish Borders. From shopping, to castles, to museums to wildlife parks, we ran out of time in our two weeks to do everything we wanted to. Particularly in the cold, winter months - and the weather was particularly wild, we were looking for a cozy home-from-home experience. The attention to detail and comfort that Joanne and Martin have paid is second to none, creating nothing short of a small, boutique hotel experience. You feel with them, that providing a special experience goes beyond the contract detail. The working farm provides a really 'real' experience of life on a farm and how it goes on no matter what the weather or season. Again, provision of wellies for our 'Mediterranean Living' children was a touch beyond what we expected but so gratefully received and appreciated. Martin and Joanne have created something very special that I heartily recommend to everyone and anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean, warm, comfortable attention to detail creates a luxurious experience.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
441Doroth...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“totally wonderful weekend.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Old Grainstore is a lovely place to stay. it is furnished to a very high standard and presents those who are lucky to stay there with a welcoming comfort at the end of a long walk! Nothing is too much trouble for the owners who are there to offer help if needed. Joanne's homemade scones were especially scrummy! Families with young children will enjoy the experience of living on a working farm. The Old Grainstore would be the perfect choice for a perfect stay in Cumbria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaof2li...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely place, beautifully decorated. We went with a 3 month old and 2 year old and Joanne had put everything in we needed. Great space for then to play indoors and outdoors and very comfortable. Would really recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing