We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected bonus.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wigton
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An unexpected bonus.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It was only an overnight stay but very enjoyable. The bedroom was nicely proportioned with all the necessary facilities - the mealtimes were variable which meant we didn't have to rush to be there for a set time and the food was well presented and excellent.

The tariff was extremely reasonable and the free bottle of wine a great bonus - we will definately consider going there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knitandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
40
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is such a friendly hotel, just like being in your local. The room was brilliant my wife loved the massage chair. Good food, warm and comfortable room. Great prices and in a good location. Weather not good whilst there so made use of the dvd in tv and watched a few films, nice and cosy. Excellent, they certainly know how to make you feel like one of the family,locals included. See you soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stranraer
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked in at the Wheyrigg Hall Hotel for one night last last week and really enjoyed our stay. the rooms were warm, clean and comfortable. Breakfast and evening meal were excellent and staff polite and welcoming. Great value for money and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra9814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Once again booked in at the wheyrigg, family living in Aspatria now means monthly jaunts to Cumbria and the wheyrigg offers the perfect B and B. first time, huge room, spotlessly clean, comfy bed. Friendly welcome, fantastic home cook meal for 2 adults 2 kids, chicken curry was fantastic and the homemade chips beat many a chippy! Great nights undisturbed sleep, then a fantastic breakfast, order taken by the owners too cute 11 year old grandson, who provided us with a better level of service than restaurant staff!
2nd time, huge triple room for the two of us, again spotless, again comfy bed and undisturbed sleep despite a party in the hotel, honestly didnt hear a thing from at least 100 guests! Breakfast again was delicious, cannot recommend this hotel enough, its quaint and quirky in the bar and dining hall, actually, even though the rooms are modern there's been a quirky twist! First room had a massage chair, triple room had the coolest patterns painted on to the aertex ceiling!! Staying again this weekend and I'm already wondering if we will get a different room and what its quirk will be! If you're visiting this area of Cumbria give this place a call, you won't be sorry

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Living nearby Wheyrigg Hall Hotel is one of regular ports of call fo a value family evening meal. Food is well cooked and value for mone with a very warm welcome from staff and locals alike.
You won't leave hungry!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Wheywrigg hall hotel was a wonderful surprise. The welcome was warm and friendly. Our room lovely. Cleanliness was a perfect 10/10. The food was exceptional, I would go as far as to say the best I have tasted, especially their chips. The bar is warm and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmilic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Agreed with every word that "my visit" said. We had two nights on a deal and it was great. Booked b and b but after touring around all day, Carlisle etc, we decided to stay in and have the evening meal on both nights. Very good idea, good food, no driving, relaxing in the bar with good company. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigton
0.0 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
0.0 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yorkshire Hotel
The Yorkshire Hotel
#20 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheyrigg Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheyrigg Hall Hotel

Property: Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Address: Wigton CA7 0DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wigton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wigton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wheyrigg Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheyrigg Hall Hotel is a traditional family owned and managed Country Hotel and Restaurant where a warm welcome is assured. We have Single, Twin, Double and Family rooms, all of which have en suite facilities and are centrally heated.They have TV, tea/coffee making facilities and there is spacious car parking. Enjoy the cosy atmosphere of our Lounge Bar and spacious Dining Room. Surf the web! Wireless networking is now available in all bedrooms and in the lounge area. The enclosed front garden has swings, slides, etc., to help keep your children amused and happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wheyrigg Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel Wigton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing