We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B. We'll be back for sure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beech House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Wigton B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had 3 nights at Beech House and enjoyed it very much indeed.
We felt immediately welcome and relaxed in clean and comfortable surroundings.
We were given an interesting tour of the smallholding, which leads me to the best part of our stay, the food. The home grown bacon and sausages were simply outstanding, I've not tasted better and I'm very particular.
We had a great time in the lake district and when we return we'll be sure to stay at Beech House.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrazBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Beech House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

Caroline & Dave were lovely, the house was lovely and couldn't get enough of their breakfast. Unfortunately we didn't get the chance to taste Caroline's steak and kidney pie but would go back for that alone!
The small holding is lovely and was great to help hand feed the sheep.
very quiet but great location for local pubs and lakes.
Caroline and Dave recommended the nearby Buttermere lake and weren't dissapointed, nice and quiet but stunning.
We were the only people there and were given the option of the master suite at no extra charge, which was gorgeous.
I cannot praise the Beech House and Caroline & Dave enough.
if you want a quiet few days away from it all, this is the place to go and I want to take all my friends and family there to experience it in the great way I did.
excellent ++++
thank you very much

Room Tip: quiet but great location for local attractions
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Beech House and loved it. We had the master suite which was spacious, well-equipped, spotlessly clean and overall, a beautifully decorated room. We didn't spend much time in the lounge because we went out walking but it would have been a great place to while away an afternoon or evening if the weather was bad - likewise the hot tub and sauna! We were pleased to find it is only a 10 minute drive from the edge of the Lake District (we had thought it might take a little longer than this). The laminated maps of walks were really useful. Caroline and Dave's hospitality was great, breakfast was fantastic, and the tour of the smallholding made us want to do the same! Only minor niggle was the lack of a shower curtain or screen... we kept getting the bathroom floor very wet and then walking on it in socks and getting wet socks. Anyway, we wouldn't hesitate to go back and would hope for some horrible weather so we can justify staying at Beech House all day!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chellie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the Beech House B&B for one night over the August bank holiday, and how I wish we had planned to stay for more! This was an amazing little gem; from the minute we arrived, we couldn’t have asked for more. The little touches of fruit and chocolates in the room on arrival, slippers and dressing gowns, the comfiest bed ever, a tour of the small holding, private use of the hot tub and sauna, assistance with the best walks of the local area, a glass of wine to relax with in the lounge in the evening, an amazing breakfast of home baked bread, home grown ingredients and home reared meat, a pumpkin to take home, and endless warm, friendly hospitality.

I whole heartedly recommended the Beech House as the place to stay, and will certainly be visiting again for longer than one night!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraje1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed two nights in Beech House, lovely room with onsuite over looking the quiet village green. Friendly welcome and cuppa as we arrived, small touches in the rooms were appreciated such the Dressing Gowns, slippers, choclates etc. Breakfasts very nice indeed, home made bread, with bacon and sausages from their own pigs on the smallholding .
The residents lounge was cosy with big comfortable sofas and a log burning stove, we felt like staying there all day. Long walk up Skiddaw on the Saturday came back to have a sauna and hot tub.
Caroline and Dave showed us around the small holding which we found to be a real eye opener, their sow,' Deliah', had 10 cute piglets, thier sheep followed us around like dogs and their ram wanted petting!.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank driving21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wigton hotels
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
126 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fiddleback Farm
Fiddleback Farm
#3 of 9 in Wigton
35 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wallace Lane Farm
Wallace Lane Farm
#2 of 9 in Wigton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Midtown Farm Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Brandraw House
Brandraw House
#6 of 9 in Wigton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Blennerhasset, Wigton CA7 3RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wigton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wigton
Price Range: $54 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Beech House Bed & Breakfast Wigton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing