We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zest Restaurant

Zest Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 65 Restaurants in Whitehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cumbria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited Zest low road again on at the weekend and as always this place does not disappoint. From the moment you walk through the door you know you're in good hands, the service is exceptional. The choice of food is great and suitable for most budgets and tastes since they changed their menu (suitable for kids too). They also have specials that are changed each week these are posted on their website from Wednesday for the rest of the week.
There is plenty of parking although a little out of town, but who would want to go into town when you can relax in such a great friendly place with quality wines.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaychicCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    42
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Low rd restaurant”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent meal & good service. Varied choice on the menu, so will have to go back to try more dishes

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fussyteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally got there”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have been trying to get to Zest at Low Road for years -- we live just outside Newcastle and although often in Cumbria we don't get to Whitehaven. We do however closely follow the recipes Emma and Ricky put in the Workington Times and Star -- they are brilliant and we had the chance to tell Emma that when we finally got to the Restaurant on Wednesday 17 October.
The visit was absolutely spot on from start to finish - nice ambience , very attentive , polite and helpful staff headed up in the Restaurant by Emma who took time out to have a long chat with us.
As we were finishing our meal Ricky paid us the incredible courtesy of coming from his chores in the kitchen to also chat at length -- not only that but he gave us leaving presents of eggs freshly laid by his own (and Emma's !) hens and ducks and then insisted on driving us back to our accomodation in Moresby Hall -- because he was "passing by that way". What a gesture and brilliant end to a terrific evening.
It took us some years to get there but the wait was well worthwhile - we just couldn't have asked for more -- oh and by the way -- the food was rather good too !!!

Finally - can't find an e-mail address - so Emma and Ricky -- many thanks and hopefully see you again soon. Best Regards Joan and John.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johntoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A special treat”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Zest restaurant is almost like a top class London restaurant has materialised on the outskirts of Whitehaven! Surroundings are stylish (except for the reception area which spoils it slightly) and tables in the booths are intimate.
Food is gorgeous and well cooked. Specials available
Every time Ive visited the service has been excellent.
The chefs will ice a message onto a plate for your own cake for a special occasion. Slightly expensive, with sides extra, but get a tastecard!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milliesk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Western Lakes hidden gem”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We travel to this part of Cumbria a lot during the Summer months as we have a static caravan in the area. We love this part of the country but finding anywhere nice to eat out is virtually impossible, that is unless you visit ZEST in Whitehaven.
The restaurant is vibrant and full of life with Emma, who owns the business along with Chef husband Ricky. The front of house team of efficient waiters and waitresses with Emma at the helm is like a well oiled machine, while Ricky and his team do their magic in the kitchens to provide the food from an excellent menu complemented with a varied specials board, there really is something for everybody here.
This restaurant deserves an accolade for the quality , inventiveness and presentation of its food. It could easily compete for a place along side all the award winning restaurants which abound in the more central parts of the Lake District.
We will be back when Spring returns.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs-pie-bun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest Restaurant also viewed

 
Whitehaven, Cumbria
Whitehaven, Cumbria
 

Been to Zest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing