We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always amazing!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitehaven
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always amazing!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have dined at he Georgian house on several occasions, each time I have had excellent food and very generous portion sizes. The staff are always very welcoming and the atmosphere is lovely.
I've dined there with my husband for special occasions and also with friends and always brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    19
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
32
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We went last night 16/08/13 for our Anniversary. What a lovely place. Staff looked after us great the restaurant has a lovely feel to it. The food was fantastic would highly recommend this restaurant for a meal.
We have been to other restaurants in town but this was a clear winner for me 5 stars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cebse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went to the Georgian on Saturday night for a meal ,twelve of us in total meals all served together no waiting for anyone to get there meals service was excellent from the minute we walked in till we left .Annette was brilliant as was all the staff excellent food all hot and plenty of it would like to say to steph and lee you have wonderful staff. Thanks for making us welcome you really made four ladies who's birthday it was very happy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleyCumbriaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were made extremely welcome here (the complimentary drinks brought to our room after a trying journey were especially welcome!) The accommodation is very comfortable and the food delicious with very large portions. Our room had a sizeable TV, a huge bathroom and a yummy hospitality tray. I know one or two people have mentioned that breakfast is served early but that is because although this is a small hotel it also caters for business people and we were happy to get up at a reasonable time.The owners know many of their guests by name and they obviously attract a lot of repeat business. All staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. We found the small one way system in Whitehaven a bit difficult to follow at first but there was free parking nearby...although we decided to use the very cheap multi-storey after the seagulls left rather an interesting selection of calling cards on the car roof and bonnet! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyChatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Georgian House Hotel was just superb!
I had a 2 week business trip to Whitehaven, was recommended by colleagues to stay here, and am glad I decided to go ahead with it. Being so far away from home, it was nice to finally stay at a hotel that felt like home, with the quirky additional touches and the warm decor.
Location was excellent - 2mins walk from harbourside, restaurants and pubs, 5mins walk from station and 24hr Tesco's, truly in the heart of the city centre.
Most importantly the bed was comfortable, clean spacious rooms and modern bathrooms.
I ordered room service on few nights, and each and every night the food was beautifully presented and was delicious. Not only was there good food, I was also able to order a lunch pack which was delivered daily in a timely manner packed with delicious food (a generous amount for one). Steph and Annette were great hosts, and very approachable, and was helpful with my million questions.
If ever in town again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviwivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a 13 month assignment near Whitehaven. I tried 2 other local hotels and quickly settled on the GHH. The rooms are slightly quirky, but appointed to a high standard. Location is absolutely ideal with a good selection of eateries and pubs within 5 mins walk. Lee and Steph were excellent hosts, ably supported by Annette and the lovely Rita (not the meter maid). The restaurant offers a varied menu using quality ingredients and meals were always very well presented.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sionpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had a 6 month stay and found the staff great and really helpful. Annette provided friendly and warm service. All rooms brilliant Choice of luxury bath/shower. Restraunts had great food worthy of master chef. Well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
3.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#2 of 3 in St. Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian House Hotel

Property: Georgian House Hotel
Address: 8-11 Church Street, Whitehaven CA28 7AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Georgian House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian House, Whitehaven accommodation. Set amidst the stunning conservation area surrounding the pretty town of Whitehaven and Winner of the Best Accommodation Provider for two years, The Georgian House Hotel provides exceptional accommodation, the finest cuisine and a genuinely warm welcome. A holiday, short break or visit to The Georgian House Hotel places you at the heart of Whitehaven town centre with easy access to the many local attractions and amenities. Whitehaven is located on the popular west coast of Cumbria, at the edge of the Lake District, where some of the most beautiful and scenic countryside in England can be enjoyed. Stay in comfort, Whitehaven & Cumbria Hotel & Restaurant. Whether you are staying in Whitehaven for business or pleasure, The Georgian House Hotel will make your stay a delight. From the great service, freshly prepared meals, attractive décor, comfortable rooms, hearty breakfasts and modern facilities, to the friendly service and excellent location – your stay will be memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing