We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience though you need time”

Whitehaven Golf Club
Ranked #16 of 65 Restaurants in Whitehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good experience though you need time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My first visit to the new club house and restaurant at the Golf Club. At fist sight built to quite a high standard and well finished, except for the shipping containers still out the back. Inside the good impression continues and the restaurant is not that large but comfortable and a view out onto the 18th. Reasonable but not large selection but our party of 5 had 5 different main courses and they were all well prepared, tasty and well presented. There were a couple large parties in so food service was perhaps a bit slower than at other times but I like a relaxed atmosphere and the staff although young and inexperienced were attentive, willing and friendly. Starters and ;deserts were just as good though we didn't cover as wide a range. It is not gourmet but good and was all excellent value. Will certainly be going back soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    47
    18
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service would highly recommend to all the course is worth playing as well will return when next in area

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

we enjoyed a meal on Monday 22nd April as a family.Very pleasantly surprised at the quality of food and surroundings. A hidden Gem in Whitehaven and would recommend this venue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Northernones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good menu, ambience, service, price. All in all, a very good eating experience.
The signage directions wise from the main road could be better. Well done overall though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 63BB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've been here for a sunday carvery and also for a group meal at Christmas with friends. The sunday dinner was lovely and then dessert afterwards, would definitely recommend. A group of us came at Christmas and sat in the smaller restaurant area which was really nice, you could have had a few courses or just a main meal. I had a beef dinner which was really nice and all the other girls enjoyed their meals, we had lots of wine too! Service was really good, no complaints from us. We then went and sat in the bar afterwards while we waited for our taxi. It's nicely decorated inside and a good place to go for a meal and drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehaven Golf Club also viewed

Whitehaven, Cumbria
Whitehaven, Cumbria
 
Whitehaven, Cumbria
Whitehaven, Cumbria
 

Been to Whitehaven Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing