We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beacon Museum

The Beacon Museum
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Whitehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“An interesting museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Though we live fairly near this museum we had never been. We chose to go as it was too wet to walk in the lakes. The museum is well planned and there are a number of inter active exhibits. We spent two enjoyable hours and we learned things about the county we live in. The cafe was welcoming and the food fine. I would recommend this museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank UlverstonJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    50
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK but very nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had a lunch at the Beacon and the food wasn't particularly good; the coffee was good and the service was alright. What makes up for it is the location which is great

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank theoldnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best place to eat out with kids in whitehaven!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really family friendly, able to get pram in and around easily, plently of high chairs in café, lovely friendly helpful staff, good baby changing, lovely food, activities and toys to keep little ones occupied at table, lovely selection of Hartley's ice creams. breast feeding friendly, kid friendly, really good selection of kids food/drinks, kids cutlery, lovely view out over harbour even on rainy days.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank victoria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Little Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This museum which looks like a lighthouse is situated right on the harbour at Whitehaven. It has a free gallery and gift shop on the ground floor but the rest of the museum has a very reasonable (in our opinion) entrance fee,

It has four floors and, as the helpful receptionist suggested, you start at the top and work your way down. It has lifts for the lesser able. The top floor is a brief history of Whitehaven and an excellent viewing gallery from which to take photographs or use the telescopes provided.

The exhibitions on each floor are well laid out and a lot of thought has gone into them, there is music and a poetry reading at one point, televisual displays and lots of hands on exhibits for the little ones, including digging for artifacts in a "trench" and lots of drawers and trapdoors at small person height.

We spent a good couple of hours here and is perfect if the weather in Cumbria should turn inclement :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent little known museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a wonderful museum which I don't think too many people know about. It is excellent value for money and we spent a good 3 hours looking around at the exhibits which were both interesting and many being interactive so would suit all age groups. Lovely panoramic views from the top overlooking Whitehaven, the sea and even the coast of Scotland.
Another floor gave the history of the coastal areas going back many centuries. Another floor gave the history of the industry of the area with regard to ship building, etc., etc..
We visited on a Bank Holiday day and were very surprized it was so quiet but then we only found out about it on a leaflet we picked up locally and had no idea as to what kind of museum it really was but we were certainly not disappointed.
Worth every penny of its admission fee with staff being very helpful and friendly and in a pleasant and very clean, environment. What a great place to visit if the weather isn't too good - old and young alike would enjoy it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntiqueFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beacon Museum also viewed

Whitehaven, Cumbria
Whitehaven, Cumbria
 
Whitehaven, Cumbria
Whitehaven, Cumbria
 

Been to The Beacon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing