We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beacon”
Review of The Beacon Museum

The Beacon Museum
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Whitehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The beacon”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The beacon in Whitehaven is a good half day out for anybody

There is plenty for everybody to do with plenty of information to be read and interactive displays to play with

The price is reasonably aswell

The only downside was there was a school trip going around at the same time, but it did didn't cause to much disruption

Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    55
    6
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“waste of tax payers money”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

i think the above speaks for its self more so if you are from whitehaven its been built once then it was falling down then they rebuilt in now they are deciding to close it down

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank upayforwhatyouget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

we wnet when the bbc dinosaur display was there and bought an annual ticket which is great value, the beacon is great for when the kids are off school cos they do little art/craft activities, there is also a cafe downstairs that do a mean hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows-service can be a bit slow though.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beacon Fab Day”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Beacon is a Fantastic place to visit alone or with the family. Lots to do and see. Great day out!! and friendly staff

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FLOSSY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Its a must”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited The Beacon on New Years Day and had a fab time. It only costs £5.50 for adults and £1.00 for children under 16. We were told to allow between 1 and 2 hours to go round but were actually there for more than 3! It is full of interactive things to do for adults and children and learning things in a fun way. We even got to do our own weather forecast - hilarious! Once you have tried everything out, there is a fab little cafe on the ground floor. I can highly recommend the lemon drizzle cake. Definitely somewhere to go if you are in Whitehaven.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beacon Museum also viewed

Whitehaven, Cumbria
Whitehaven, Cumbria
 
Whitehaven, Cumbria
 

Been to The Beacon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing