We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious food (again!)”

the waterfront restaurant and bar
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Whitehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Overton-on-Dee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glorious food (again!)”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited the Waterfront a few days ago for the second time and we were blown away again by the quality of the food. The service is more 'relaxed' (but also more friendly!) than you would experience in London restaurants and in our experience you would pay much, much more for this quality of food where we live 'down south'.
This restaurant is a hidden gem in West Cumbria, the food looks divine, is innovative, exciting and tasty and the chef and manager are obviously keen to get things as perfect as they can every time for every course.
Would highly recommend for couples and groups of adults, this is our Cumbrian treat every time we visit now!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    99
    30
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
316 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Good food but at city prices”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Waterfront last night in a party of 10. Overall it was good but the service really let down the great food.
I found the food expensive, definately London prices, but they miss the finesse that should go with it. Leaving unused wine glasses on the table, not taking side plates away....just the small things.
I would go back again as the food was delicious (apart from the creme brûlée which was horrid).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andi_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waited for ages”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went out earlier this year and decided to try the waterfront, on a friday afternoon with only 2 other people in the place, waited for ages to be served and then it took over an hour for the food to arrive, fish and chips, it came with the fish on a chopping board with the chips in a little bucket and the peas in a pot on the side, while the boards looked clean I wonder how hygienic it is, and all the mucking about with things all separate. The food was OK but then another looong wait for anyone to bother to come and see if a sweet was required. All in all good food, let down by really bad service at a price that could be easily beaten by Zest next door.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Theregsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for Christmas pud!! ( and the rest)”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Yet again, great service, Adrian is so gracious , the food is great - lamb shank just lipsmackingly wonderful and Xmas pud with brandy butter and cream to finish - the wine list continues to be great just ask Adrian for a recommendation - he's spot on for me at least - so they pay attention to customers

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordonClyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Bees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unforgettable... for all the right reasons!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I don't think I've ever reviewed anywhere more than once, but this is my third one for the Waterfront! The evening we spent there, enjoying an 8 course tasting menu on 17th November during their "Taste of Solway" weekend, was such a cut above anything I've experienced before that I felt it was really worth sharing. Every time i have eaten there the service has been great and the food lovely. On this occasion however, when they were specifically celebrating the amazing seafood that we have on our doorstep, it was truly exceptional. One of my fellow diners said "well that's the kind of evening you never forget" and I think that is how we all felt when we left.

I could happily rave on about every single course, but that would take too long! The highlights were a seafood risotto with avocado icecream which just blew us all away, the biggest & tastiest king scallop (if there is an emperor scallop I'm sure this was one!) with treats & truffle, and a stunning lobster bisque. Every mouthful was delicious and I hope I'm lucky enough to eat like this again! In addition, the service was perfect & Adrian matched wines to each course, giving enough background to be really interesting but not so much that it was a "lecture".

I think we are rather blessed to have a consistently excellent restaurant in Whitehaven, and the bonus is that you can treat yourself to an extraordinary menu like this, but equally enjoy a lunchtime light meal or not break the bank with evening food. OK I confess I'm a raving fan, and if everyone around our table came away saying "unforgettable, must go back" they must be getting it pretty spot on! Cheers Adrian and Simon for a really special evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the waterfront restaurant and bar also viewed

 

Been to the waterfront restaurant and bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing