We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of ARRIGHI's

ARRIGHI's
Ranked #41 of 66 Restaurants in Whitehaven
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This is a character listed property of over 400 year old that has recently undergone a major re-furbishment. With a new commercial kitchen, contemporary style furniture, restored original wooden flooring from the deck of a ship and hand painted murals, this is a family business of over 105 years old that is one, if not the oldest, in the Lake District. During the day, downstairs we are a fully licensed bistro style restaurant with traditional Italian style take away fish & chips. In the evening, by prior arrangement, we open to offer a private dining experience. We are not like the other restaurants in the area with a large busy bar. Our ambition is to remain very small and exclusive. We can cater for between 2 and 12 people each evening with the facility becoming yours. For larger parties, you have your own chief and waitress. We offer a standard menu but prefer to design a menu of seafood and steaks as you prefer. We offer a fine wine list, some beers and a selection of fine Scottish malt whiskey.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had fish and chips there but they were burnt looking so we never went back, shame really as they used to be nice

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    7
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

One of the towns original chippies and still one of the best, nice and clean and well cooked food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank msteve1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Couldn't believe how good it was...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Visited Whitehaven for the first time in ages for a birthday party - hadn't been to Arrighis since I was at school 20 years ago there, so decided to take my partner there.

The restaurant was pretty quiet, so it was really easy to get a table. Prices were very good value and there was a big menu to choose from.

I plumped for Fish and Chips with mushy peas, and watched as the cook hand battered the fish and fried it to order, it was absolutely delicious. Chips were also freshly cooked, and were great. Drinks like Hot Vimto took me back in time as well.

Its been years since I was there, my next visit will be sooner....

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dma1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“looks nice on the outside, but BEWARE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Went to Whitehaven for the day and walked past this restaurant and thought how nice it looked. BUT The chips were terrible, they were limp and greasy and the outsides were tough and they tasted as if they were fried in dirty fat.
The fish was greasy with soggy batter. I would have taken them back but we had a train to catch. I hate being ripped off , the woman that served us was friendly which makes it worse because she must have known she was serving us with vile food. when we went ouside we noticed tables with plates full of half eaten food, i wish we had seen it before we went in.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sallysands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ARRIGHI's also viewed

 

Been to ARRIGHI's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing