We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reed House”
Review of Read Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Read Guest House
Ranked #15 of 15 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at Reed House when I did the Reivers Cycle Route. My bike was securely stored. The room was not ensuite, but it had a sink and the bathrooms were excellent. It is a Georgian building near the market place. Definitely in the 'pretty' part of Whitehaven and close to all amenities. The owner was friendly, breakfeast good and th price of £30 was fair. I would stop again.

Stayed: July 2013
5  Thank Quissicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Recently I stayed at the guest house for 5 nights whilst completing a course in the local area. The accommodation was lovely, the owners were very helpful and I felt very welcome whilst staying here.

Although the rooms are not en-suite they are great for the price. I cannot fault this place for the price that I paid, had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aviator23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

i stayed at the read guest house while working in Whitehaven for 5-6 weeks, I would of preferred a en suit room but at the price i paid it met my needs, comfortable and very clean rooms, good bathrooms with up to date clean shower. Good breakfast and a warm welcome from Ann the owner
. Iv read the reviews from some sad people who have given it 1 star. Yes its not the Hilton but it meets the needs of many coast to coast cyclist and contractors who want a central location and a warm welcome after a hard day. Thanks Ann i was happy to stay there and will do when i go back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katiekenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A very good priced room to fit my needs. I arrived late and was welcomed in to a lovely warm house. I asked about parking and was directed to a local car park, and also offered a 'parking disc' for free for one hours' use the following morning. Nice warm room, clean bedding, tv, tea, coffee etc. Bathrooms on the next landing, nice and warm and clean.
Breakfast served at time of asking, cereals, plenty of thick toast, tea and a full English ( 2 eggs ! )
All in all, a warm, welcoming budget priced B & B which would suit anyone's needs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

we got there thusrday night and were greeted by a lady who was nice to start with but we started to feel like we were being pushed to go to are rooms as she stopped speaking to us felt a bit strange round her are bikes were put in the back yard which was making us feel very un easy as they cost alot of money so worried about whether they would still be there in the morning breakfast was very average rooms need alot of updating i would not go there again sorry

Room Tip: dont go there its a dump got out of there friday morning couldnt sleep for the noisy road outside an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

friendly service and very helpful great if you want to be in the centre of the town of whitehaven but not to noisy even on a busy friday night i would stay here again and the breakfast was just what i expected overall i dont see why others are complaining about this place for the price and what you need of the room i couldnt ask for more its never going to be a 5 star place so dont expect it and if you do then go stay someway else as this place had been running for years and i think the owner of the place does it right for the price

Room Tip: warm welcoming and very roomy old victorian house packed with original features lovely breakfast and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank upayforwhatyouget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Me and a friend stayed here for two nights and found the staff very friendly. The breakfast was brill and we enjoyed it, even got seconds.
The cost was £25 per night B&B in a shared room. Can't fault it for the price.
Back next year

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RyanPB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehaven hotels
2 mi away
Moresby Hall
Moresby Hall
#1 of 2 in Moresby
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chase Hotel
Chase Hotel
#5 of 15 in Whitehaven
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glenfield House
Glenfield House
#4 of 15 in Whitehaven
121 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grovewood House B&B
Grovewood House B&B
#8 of 15 in Whitehaven
29 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Whitehaven
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Read Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Read Guest House

Address: 5 Cross Street, Whitehaven CA28 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing