We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 14 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived at the Corner House B&B with high expectations, having read the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed: after a friendly welcome from the owners, we were shown to a beautiful and spacious room with an equally impressive bathroom, copiously stocked with luxury toiletries. With breakfast being cooked to order and the owners attending to our every need, there was absolutely nothing to fault at the Corner House. B&Bs simply don't get any better than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJS1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
87
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this brilliant B&B the night before we cycled the C2C. When my wife and I arrived it was pouring down - Dave and Leisa couldn't help enough to make sure we got sorted as quickly as possible. They were very attentive but without being intrusive. Excellent. The room was really comfortable and we got a great nights sleep before our bike ride. Breakfast was delicious and we were sent on our way with two gorgeous cupcakes (we devoured these at our first stop!). Superb B&B. Highly recommended. John & Evelin

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stapo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

walked through whitehaven from the train station in the rain to get there - town was fairly dull and depressing. Thisplace was definitly much better though. The bedroom and ensuite were really nice - absolutly spotless and with all the extras - more varieties of shampoo than you could shake a stick at. THe bed was very very comfortable - in fact i'd go as far as to say its the most comfortable hotel bed i've ever experienced - and i've slept in quite a few! Breakfast was nice - full english - all the trimmings. I will definitely return here when i'm in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asqrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for only one night, in transit from Manchester to St Andrews, to rest and have a look at Whitehaven. The Corner House B&B was the perfect stop over. Leisa and Dave are very welcoming and friendly. They are attentive to their needs of their guests, which was quite refreshing. We both felt very comfortable and relaxed from the moment we walked in the door. The rooms are clean, spacious, loved the old english feel to them. In particular the bathroom is very well decorated. The bath tub was quite large. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dehalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I booked this B&B after searching reviews on this site and what a wee gem it turned out to be. Leisa and Dave are genuinely nice, honest, decent couple who can't do enough for you. The room was immaculate and very well presented. During our time there my wife was suffering from a really bad head cold and we ended up staying most of the time in the room. Leisa kept us well stocked in teas and coffee. Thank you guys for making the stay really special and for your generosity (the cup cakes were delish). We WILL definitely be back.

Room Tip: There all good....Just book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonne900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Corner House for 3 nights over the august bank holiday and it was fantastic. Leisa and Dave are absolutely fantastic hosts and deserve all of the wonderful reviews on here, and which I am about to add too. I'll try and go in order, the arrival, welcoming and helpful despite us turning up at nearly 11.30pm at night, they were all smiles. Breakfast - mmmmm yum yum, gosh this was delicious, warm croissants, followed by cereal and fruit if you wish, however we saved ourselves for the brilliant cooked breakfast everyday because it was so scrummy, fresh grilled tomotoes and their own eggs from their own hens. We were completely stuffed!! Both Leisa and Dave checked we had everything we needed. The rooms are beautifully decorated and verrrrrrry stylish. We stayed in the Buttermere - which has a large ensuite with a great shower - powerful, nice and hot. Lots fo lovely extras and thoughtful touches throughout the room, shower cremes, cotton wool buds, hairdryers, tea, coffee, water the list is almost endless. They were also great with recommending places to visit and restaurants and bars to eat and drink at. Check out - Le Grande Finale - he he - we got cupcakes on departure whoooppppeeeee. Would definitely stay again and 100% wholeheartedly recommend. Go and stay you will not regret it. We will be back. A BIG thank you to Leisa and Dave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hobbienobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary and found this b & b online.....What a good find! The room & bathroom were beautifully decorated, well furnished,with a comfy king sized bed, maticulously clean with luxurious accessories. More importantly the hospitality was extremely friendly and welcoming, they couldn't do enough for us. A lovely touch was a pressie for our anniversary along with cupcakes on our departure. A big thank you to Leisa and Dave. Would definitely recommend The Corner House for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
3.3 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
156 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 14 in Whitehaven
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenfield House
Glenfield House
#4 of 14 in Whitehaven
113 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moresby Hall
Moresby Hall
#1 of 2 in Moresby
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Laurel Bank | Foxhouses Road, Whitehaven CA28 8AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisa and Dave welcome you to The Corner House.This Victorian villa, built in 1863 hosts many original features, including high ceilings, sash windows and fireplaces. We have six rooms to offer our guests. The Corner House is located only a 5 minutes stroll from the historic Georgian port town of Whitehaven. Much of the town dates back to the 1700's when shipping, rum and mining were its main trades. The regenerated harbour side with it's cafes and restaurants is now noted as being the start of the C2C cycle route.At The Corner House's guest facilities include onsite parking, secure cycle store and free WiFi. We pride ourselves on providing the right balance of service and quality that you would expect from a hotel with the personal and friendly atmosphere you would find in a bed and breakfast.Whether it's a romantic weekend away, fell walking, cycling or business, The Corner House offers quality accommodation, comfort and style ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Corner House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing