We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable hotel”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A reasonable hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Waverley Hotel is a reasonable place to stay but is nothing more than that. The staff are friendly but the hotel is tired and the rooms really need refurbishing to meet more modern standards. My dinner was nothing morethan okay however breakfast was very nice. For the price there are much nicer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
19
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed one night. It felt tired, with faded carpets and creaky floor boards. The hotel is clean enough (although my shower hadn't been cleaned out properly). They did a good breakfast in the morning and were friendly. That said, I was left waiting for quite a while to check in. Worth £50 a night anywhere else, not the £74 I was charged.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WebbyABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was our fourth visit, with our walking group, really good food for walkers, friendly hotel very good value for money. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

4 night stay as part of a walking group. Used this hotel for the last four years. Richard and Cheryl the owners do a great job in providing a warm welcome. The rooms are always clean, warm and well presented.

We ate here every night, you'd be hard pushed to get better value and quality anywhere in Whitehaven .

The bar is a welcoming place to have a few jars of an evening.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverbacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed as group of six doing the C2C. The hotel looks fine and is positioned great for a night in the centre of Whitehaven.

The Bedrooms we all stayed in were ensuite but rather tired. Cleanliness and comfort of rooms rather basic.

The bar was fine and the breakfasts OK. Staff friendly enough, but not memorable

The bikes were stored overnight in the smokers yard in the courtyard of the hotel. Some cover from the rain would of been rather better. Getting the bikes in and out through the hotel front door all seemed a bit odd.

On a positive note the hotel has definately improved slightly over the years I have stayed during C2C trips...... I think more improvements would be welcome

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Thank you so much to the owners, Cheryl and Robert, of this hotel who helped to make our trip to Whitehaven so enjoyable!

We travelled up from Bournemouth to attend a wedding near Whitehaven and, when booking, I asked whether we could check in early so that we could change before the wedding at 2pm.

When we arrived, not only did Cheryl remember that we were the couple in the rush to make the wedding (we booked several weeks ago), but she ensured the room was ready asap and we checked in by 11.30am - 2 and a half hours earlier than the usual check-in time! Nothing was too much trouble and we were met with such a friendly welcome.

The room was comfortable with a nice view of the outdoor area and it was quiet. We had an ensuite with a shower. Lovely towels were provided as well as little toiletries and a generous amount of biscuits with the tea and coffee making facilities in the room.There is also free parking in front of the hotel.

The hotel is in a great location, just a few steps away from the centre of Whitehaven and within easy reach of the Lake District.

We had a great chat with Cheryl and Robert in the bar after the wedding and we have never encountered a friendlier hotel! The breakfast the following morning was definitely the best hotel breakfast that we had ever had - we had the cooked breakfast, with thick rashers of bacon, perfectly cooked fried egg, delicious sausages and all the trimmings and very generous amount of toast, tea and cereal was also offered. Wonderful!

Definitely recommended for its friendliness and for the fantastic breakfast (which was included in the rate)! Thank you again for a great stay and for helping us make the wedding on time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

After seeing some of the reviews on this hotel was apprehensive on what to expect but as it near to the coach stop de3cided to chance it. I was absolutely astounded on arrival - wonderful welcome - case taken up to room for me - i had one of the basic rooms so was not expecting too much in way of comfort - the room was spacious, ultra clean - sheets were crispy white - fluffy towels on the bed accompanied by little toiletries and a hospitality tray with comprehensive selection. I had a wonderful sleep after few tasters of the bar. The breakfast next morning was excellent - full english + cereals etc and service everything one would expect for a 5 *. My room was serviced and fresh towels and toiletries replaced even though i was only there 2 nights. As i was leaving early sandwhiches were offered for me to take with me as well as a self serve continental + offerred on tap. Whilst awaiting for friends to arrive during the course of the morning a coffee jug etc was provided complimentary. During the course of the day i observed 3 local events taking place in the hotel - endorsing the level of satisfaction i found. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and relatives etc visiting the lake district. Would also like to thank hosts for all the kind extra services i received during my stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathermottram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
4.2 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
424 reviews
6.8 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
168 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Glenfield House
Glenfield House
#4 of 14 in Whitehaven
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 13-14 Tangier Street, Whitehaven CA28 7UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel in the Georgian town of Whitehaven in the Western Lake District. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing