We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chestnuts bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 14 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“chestnuts bed and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

An excellent acommodating farmhouse , excellent room and en suite .Bob and Norah were very friendly hosts made to feel very welcome and wih an option of an evening meal was a real bonus. Would recommend very highly. great all round.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it.
Norah and Bob were the perfect hosts, so welcoming as were their two dogs Rosie and Poppy who gave us a very friendly greeting at the door. If you're animal lover this is definitely the place for you, Norah looks after pets while their owners go on holiday so we got to meet a wide range of animals as well as their owls which are stunning.
Breakfast was amazing, choices from cereals, yoghurts to a full cooked breakfast - which was cooked to perfection!
The rooms were lovely, even had a DVD player in our room plus the best power shower 'capsule' complete with numerous jets and a radio!!
Chestnuts has a very relaxing atmosphere, set in the country yet only minutes away from the town. A very welcome break from a busy world. We will definitely be booking again next time we're in the area.

Thank you Bob and Norah, you're the best!

Becky & Russ x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are thinking of doing the C2C cycle challenge then this has to be the place to spend the night before setting off. Lovely people, great accommodation and a superb breakfast. Top marks all round.

Thanks you Bob & Nora

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you are planning to do Coast to Coast then I could think of no where better of starting your journey! Bob & Norah were really accomodating and went the extra mile!
Fabulous breakfast and a great nights sleep in comfortable rooms and accomodion.
Would definatel recommend. Thansk Bob & Norah, Dean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High wycombe
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for the start of cycling coast to coast and I was responsible for booking the accomodation. When we left all my friends said that I had 'lucked out' finding this place and they were right.

It has everything you would want from a B&B with comfy beds, clean rooms, great shower and superb breakfast. The owners are very friendly but not intrusive and are happy to give a tour of the owls (which we didn't hear at night). I would highly recommend for fellow c2c travellers and even more for families.

If any of us go back to Whitehaven we will be staying here.

The only downside was the local pub, its a travellodge with not much character. That said the drinks we fine!

Brian

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Having not attempted the grueling coast to coast cycle track previously we decided to travel to Whitehaven the evening before in order to prepare for the ordeal. Booking to stay in the Chestnuts B&B was undoubtedly one of the best decisions we made. A homely atmosphere greeted us on arrival, even if the house was slightly tricky to immediately locate.
A fantastic homely atmosphere greeted us on arrival, which was to remain throughout the full stay. Breakfast was immediately offered and guaranteed for a great time the next morning.
Bob and Norah were very accommodating for 5 21/22 year old's, having no issues with us commuting into Whitehaven with the only issue being we locked the door correctly on our return - at a time of our choice.
One highlight was the musically gifted, mutli-purpose showers!! Overall a great start to a great experience, and heartfelt thanks go out to Bob and Norah for helping us along the way!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GamblingBanker1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed for one night before my husband started the coast to coast bike ride and it was brilliant. The hosts made us feel very welcome and our two young children were made to feel completely at home. We had a large double en-suite room with another room with bunks for the children. The little one was too small to stay in there with her brother, so we were given a travel cot for her, which was great! Our hosts had a lovely dinner ready for us all, which was very welcome after a long day travelling.

The animals were fantastic and a lovely opportunity for the children - owls, a bearded dragon, bunnies, an African grey parrot and the most popular of all was Rosie - "The Dog Who Could Play Football" (our son was very impressed). The B&B and the grounds are lovely and very spacious, the dinner/breakfasts very impressive and Norah and Bob are just so friendly, it really made a difference to our stay :-)

Will be recommending to our friends who may visit the area and if we do ever return to that part of the coast, we would definitely stay again! Thanks to Norah and Bob!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukztwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
4.7 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 14 in Whitehaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Moresby Hall
Moresby Hall
#1 of 1 in Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grovewood House B&B
Grovewood House B&B
#6 of 14 in Whitehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast
Address: Low Moresby, Whitehaven CA28 6RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing