We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chase Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the start of our C2C bike tide. Staff were very helpful and friendly and happily stored our bikes. We had a big family room at the top of the hotel, clean and comfortable. Good food satin the terrace with a good view. Only 10 min walk to the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    43
    23
    15
    5
See reviews for
19
23
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Room was clean and tidy but the rest of the hotel left a lot to the imagination...dead flowers, dirty glasses in the bar, the smell of old food, poor customer service....
Breakfast was 'served' between 7-9am but on arrival into the dining room both days at 8.45 all breakfast items were cleared away and we had to ask reception for service.
I was asked by the room maid outside my room what time I would be leaving/checking out at 9.40am as she 'wanted to finish up early' despite the fact check out is 11am.
Then we get onto sunday...post midday the whole hotel closed down. No food, no one on reception, bar closed and front door locked.
I could not get hold of anyone for milk, tea bags or the extra pillow I required.
All in all this is a b&b that is pretending to be a hotel.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidibristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitehaven hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at the Chase numerous times over the past few years and I have to say the quality of the hotel and food are fantastic. The staff are very helpful and the chef produces top quality meals, so good we stayed in the hotel for our evening meals.The rooms are a good size and very clean. Would definitely recommend to all my friends and family!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was the sixth time I've stayed at the Chase and once again, totally impressed with the service, quality of food and great atmosphere generated by all of the staff.
This is a no nonsense, value for money hotel that focuses on providing great service with a smile. If you want a great value clean and comfortable hotel, whilst visiting Whitehaven and the western Lake District, make this your base.
Breakfasts are great, evening meals are super home cooked fayre and the bar is well stocked.

The staff are uber helpful and do everything to make your stay comfortable and welcoming

Will be back again definitely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
189 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip. The rooms are very basic with a dated feel. However, they are clean and the shower was very good, although the towel was the size of a postage stamp. The restaurant food is average and quite wetherspoony. The staff were helpful though, but I did expect John Cleese to appear in the dining room at dinner...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8NSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel late May 2013 as the start of our Coast 2 Coast cycle ride. It was fine, looked tired but we got a good nights sleep, hot shower, clean towels and a good breakfast. good location for town center which you can walk in about 7-10 minutes, would stay again if doing some similar activity but not if we wanted a more up market romantic type of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p10bla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with husband and friends the night before we started the coast to coast cycle.
Friendly, helpful staff.
Our room was "an executive double" but it was definitely a basic room! Tired decor and furniture. The bed linen had seen better days. Bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water.
Large breakfast included, was adaquate.
This hotel is pretty cheap so I can't argue with any of it really - you get what you pay for! Would recommend for a no frills one night stay pre coast to coast cycle.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilmisspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#2 of 3 in St. Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase Hotel

Property: Chase Hotel
Address: Inkerman Terrace, Whitehaven CA28 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing