We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food isnt good, everything else is.”

Casa Romana - Whitehaven
Ranked #6 of 68 Restaurants in Whitehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: European, Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Right in the heart of this beautiful, historic harbour town in a Georgian townhouse lies Casa Romana Italian Restaurant. Bring your family or friends & join us for a homemade lunch from £4.95, Early evening 'twilight' menu of 1,2 or 3 courses for £6.95, £10.50 Or £12.95 Or amazing A La Carte menu anytime! Great Italian food, handmade here, by us.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Service, cleanliness etc was great however the food was burnt and the pizza was unseasoned and very unpleasant. I'm disappointed as casa romana seems to be going downhilll, everything used to be excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank whitehavenfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSHAN, Owner at Casa Romana - Whitehaven, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Please may I start by apologizing for your burnt food and unseasoned pizza. Food that is below standard should never have left the kitchen.
We have recently changed the menu and there is usually a period of 'settling in' whilst all the chef's get up to speed with new or altered recipes but may I reassure you that we are still giving 100% commitment and also we are listening to all comments about the recent changes and are working on them.
Please email me, Richard, to carlisle@casaromanauk.com so we can please have the chance of redeeming ourselves and make appropriate amends.
Thank you,
Richard, Chef/owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 300 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We recently moved to the area and searched for somewhere special to eat for our wedding anniversary. We are so glad we picked Casa Romana in Whitehaven! The service from start to finish was exceptional and always given with a friendly, warm smile. Sergio you made our evening with your wonderful sense of humour and friendly advice on wines and food combinations! The man is a star! We thoroughly enjoyed the Antipasto which offered a delicious selection of olives and cold meats. We followed this with peppered steak pasta and then went on to enjoy a beautiful ice cream sundae! We enjoyed Irish coffees and the staff chatted happily to us throughout and worked with such efficiency. We will definately return again and again and have told our family to expect a trip here every time they visit. Well done Casa Romana, your service and food do you proud!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wendyRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSHAN, Owner at Casa Romana - Whitehaven, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. we all appreciate good news!
I'm so very pleased that you chose us to celebrate your anniversary in a new town.
I have shown your comments and thanked everyone concerned and Sergio looks forward to seeing you again soon
Thank you,
Richard, Chef/owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Dined here for our aniversary in November. Staff were very attentive and prompt. This was our first visit to Casa Romana and we will return. The menu is very extensive, covering all tastes and pockets (If you think its too expensive then maybe Mc Donalds is for you!!)
My wife had a pasta dish and I had a ribeye steak, both were cooked to perfection, i would go as far to say it was the best ribeye steak i've had in Whitehaven (Bravo Casa Romana)
All in all it was a very nice evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank everreadyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have ate in Casa Romana regularly and have always found the quality and flavours of the dishes to be exceptional. The menu has been altered recently which has seen the disappearance of some of our family's favourite dishes (along with the loss of the 'Happy Hour') which is a shame but the authentic, rustic Italian taste has not changed. The atmosphere is relaxed, staff are always helpful and friendly and above all- the food does not disappoint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CQ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSHAN, Owner at Casa Romana - Whitehaven, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and I'm very glad to see that you keep on returning.
In place of the Happy Hour that we ran for years, we now offer a 3 course (optional) £12.95 special menu whilst keeping the single main course option at only £6.95 which I'm sure you'll agree, is pretty amazing value considering that all the food is cooked fresh onsite.
As we're independent and cook everything ourselves, we will gladly try to please and cook your old favourites whenever you come in next so please go ahead and just ask. We even state this on the menu so please don't be shy, as we will always try to please as long as we have the ingredients available.
I would like to take the opportunity to say that as far as the new menu goes, we're taking on board the different feedback that we're getting and are going to try to improve it again in due course,
many thanks and we look forward top seeing you again soon,
Richard, chef/owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been to the Casa Romana twice for an evening meal and the food and service have been excellent. The menu is quite extensive and covers a wide range of dishes including dishes for people who might be vegitarian or gluten intolerant.

The dishes are very generous so you need to be careful eating both a starter and a main course ... but they even offer starters which can be shared by two or four people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Des T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Romana - Whitehaven also viewed

 
Whitehaven, Cumbria
Whitehaven, Cumbria
 

Been to Casa Romana - Whitehaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing