We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Wonderful stay The staff were efficient and attentive. The food was delicious and although the service was a little too quick at times the meal was very enjoyable. Can't wait to go back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FantasticFourLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    88
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
351
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a lovely place to stay. The staff are so friendly and professional, a great team of people. The restaurant is of a very high standard, compliments to the chefs who work there. Highly recommend people eating there. The location is great, very relaxing yet within easy reach of Keswick and Whinlatter forest. The facilities were fantastic and everywhere was spotless. This is a real gem of a hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend to others and also to return in the not too distant future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

With friendly greetings when we arrived and then throughout the whole of our stay, the hotel staff were wonderful. We followed the recommendation to try the Taster Menu and were very impressed. As I have a gluten free diet it can be difficult at times to find good food but at Lyzzick Hall I was served with the best gluten free bread I have ever tasted and the waiting staff knew exactly what was ok for me. We've eaten at some of the best restaurants in the country and Lyzzick Hall is right up there! I just hope there will be a room available next time we get chance to visit the Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at Lyzzick Hall in July 2014 as part of a larger trip through the UK. I can't say enough good things about this hotel and our experience. My wife and I stayed there for three nights.

The grounds are very inviting and beautifully landscaped. The setting is peaceful outside of the town of Keswick with great views of the surrounding hills. The hotel has two nice sitting rooms on the ground floor that look out over the hills and a nice little bar area off of the main dining area and a wonderful little place to sit outside to enjoy drinks and conversation. There is a beautiful pool, but we did not use it.
Our room (Catbells) was clean, spacious and had excellent views. The bed was comfortable and clean (we did have to ask for a top sheet, which was promptly provided). The bathroom was modern and clean (including a shower and a tub).
We had breakfast all three days of our stay and dinner for two of the nights. Each of our breakfasts were good (coffee was hot, eggs were well-prepared, juice was good...etc.). The dinners were excellent as well with a variety of choices.
We had four hotels on our UK trip, and this one was by far our favorite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I like this place. Never have I stayed at a hotel with more friendly staff. The hotel is ideally placed a few minutes out of Keswick and has what must be one of the most stunning views in the country..

The food has been top quality and the relaxed atmosphere will recharge anybody's batteries. Nice swimming pool, sauna etc and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank clon5015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

After spending a week in the South Lakes with friends we decided to have a final night somewhere further north before heading home to Scotland, best decision we have made in ages!

Travelling with an 18 month old is sometimes a bit fraught but our boy was welcomed with open arms right from the outset! Free pasta and tomato/veggie sauce at 6 (with mum and dad having a sneaky drink!) with some yoghurt and fruit for pud and then an equally yummy breakfast the next morning.

The room "grizedale" was spacious even with a cot in and just close enough for the baby monitor to work down to the restaurant. If you were much further from the main staircase you might struggle.

As others have said, go for D,B and B as the evening meal was fantastic, great wine choices as well.

What really sets this apart from many establishments is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, everyone was brilliant. From our initial phone call, to leaving nothing seemed too much trouble.

I very rarely write reviews but this place is exceptional, faultless service, great food, lovely rooms and a view to die for, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulhudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I arrived on tuesday afternoon for an overnight stay, we received a lovely warm welcome from the receptionist and the man who served us drinks on a brilliant summers day. We were given the beautiful robinson room. This stay was a birthday surprise from my wife, daughter and son and their families and it was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish ! The bedroom, staff, dinner, breakfast, and of course the views were all excellent. A lovely clean and quiet hotel, we will definitely come and stay at Lyzzick hall again soon. Thanks to all concerned !!!

Room Tip: The robinson room was brilliant in every way, and although we did not view any of the other rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlerigg
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Castlerigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing