We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Haven in the Lakes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Certificate of Excellence
Enstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Haven in the Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is not only set in the most beautiful of places with stunning views is also has THE most amazing staff. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable nothing is too much for the team at the Lyzzick. I have been here for a short stay for some years now and it never ever disappoints!

Room Tip: Views are probably best from the front of the hotel but it doesn't matter really as as soon as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    88
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
351
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Farnsfield notts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Peter and I have just returned from a couple of days in our favourite hotel in the Lakes. As always , the staff were very attentive, the food fabulous and the whole ambience of the place is just wonderful. The hotel is immaculately looked after. Everywhere is spotless, beautifully decorated and wonderful flowers everywhere both inside and in the gardens. The pool area is well kept and a swim, jacuzzi and sauna is just the ticket after a day walking up the fells. We will return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaneFarnsfieldnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

From picking up the phone for my initial enquiry to the minute I walked out of the door my experience in this hotel was wonderfully relaxing, a step away from the hustle and bustle or city corporate hotels and into a world of warm friendly faces that in no way detracted from their professionalism and standards.

Stunning valley/peak views were superbly complimented by the excellent food included in the dinner bed and breakfast package backed up by a comprehensive wine list.

I will definitely be returning to this hotel in the coming months whilst in the lakes on business

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our 3rd annual visit to Lyzzick Hall and it's always a bit of a risk returning to somewhere that has been so pleasing, in case it's not quite the same. Well we were not disappointed. The hotel was excellent again in every way. We were in room 9 which was fresh and spotless with a pristine bathroom and a pleasant view of the herb garden.
The pool area was lovely and the food, well, the best around and that's saying something in this part of the world.
The staff are just lovely, every one of them, nothing is too much trouble and the restaurant service is spot on.
It's pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

My girlfriend and I spend an evening at the lyzzick hall hotel on valentines day 2014. It was one of the nicest hotel stays we have ever had. The hotels swimming pool and sauna were amazing, the views all around are second to none and the food was out of this world. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone. Great place to visit. Thank you so much for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmanJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

A very relaxed atmosphere, nice lounges to sit a relax after your meal, food is 1st class, service is excellent, rooms are lovely and a good size with lots of attention to detail, loved lyzzick hall with definitely be back, even if its just for a meal.

Room Tip: Book a superior room for xtra lush-ness
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vix13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

A wonderful hotel in a great location. Straight from arrival we felt really relaxed - friendly, efficient check in. Room was good size and beautifully set out. Good shower and quality toiletries provided. We were allocated room 5 (Grizedale) to the front of the hotel and it had wonderful views over the countryside and the snow capped hills. Lunch in the conservatory was excellent - soup and sandwiches. This set the scene for the standard of food during our stay.
We had a swim and sauna after our afternoon walk - beautiful setting for the pool overlooking the hill beyond. Facilities were again, excellent.
The evening menu was wonderful both in presentation and quality. The whole experience was delightful - relaxed and professional service from the staff. Wine list was not over the top and had an good selection for most palates.
We adjourned to the lounge for coffee - a lovely setting with log fire.
Breakfast was to the standard of previous meals.
This hotel comes highly recommended in previous reviews and did not disappoint.

Room Tip: A room to the front of hotel will not disappoint you. Well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandRosslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlerigg
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Castlerigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing