We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday Treat”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A Birthday Treat”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was a surprise booked for me by my husband and it was an excellent choice. I echo all the other comments about the super staff and their enthusiasm and willingness to help in any way.
We were in Grisedale, a superior room, spacious with lovely views out towards Keswick. After some hiccups on our first evening with the heating/hot water there was a plentiful supply of both. The bathroom was very clean, with nice big towels and a powerful shower. Pool towels and robes are also supplied - though you may want to bring flip flops to walk to the pool!
The pool area itself was perhaps looking a little tired but the water temperature was very pleasant and the Jacuzzi great. We were surprised how quiet it was too, had the pool to ourselves the majority of the time. We didn't use the sauna. I'm sure the views out from the pool would have been lovely too but it was completely steamed up because of the weather outside and the temperature inside.
Downstairs there are 2 lovely lounges, one with a roaring log fire, and supplied with magazines, books and games. There is also a more contemporary garden room. The small bar area is very comfortable too - excellent local gin by the way, Langtons.
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and the food was excellent - the 4 course dinner has plenty of choice, both meat, fish and vegetarian. There is also a very good wine list - lots of Spanish wines of course but a good selection of others as well. I can particularly recommend the cinnamon pannacotta - delicious! Service was attentive though at times a little too quick for our liking and we used a few ploys to slow things down. After all, food of this quality needs to be savoured!!
Breakfast was also very good and it makes a nice change for it to be served rather than the ubiquitous buffet. Our slight quibble is that sliced bread for toast is a let down (especially after the lovely bread on offer at dinner) and that what I'm pretty sure was Golden Shred marmalade is also disappointing - isn't there a major marmalade competition hosted in a stately home not far from here?
It is in an ideal position if you like walking the fells, or even just along the road at the back of the hotel for great views towards Keswick and the lake. It's a short drive into Keswick itself and handily placed for getting to lots of places.
Would we return - yes!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    91
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
96
385
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel offers really fine cuisine with breath taking views and a comprehensive extremely well priced quality wine list.
Never fails to delight. The lunch menu a 5:5:5 menu sparkles. Trout parfait to start, a shoulder of lamb, no fat no sinew, pure lamb and succulent. Outstanding vegetables, chicory, sweet potato and a potato slice I need to eat again very soon. The Merlot was outstanding and so reasonably priced however the proprietors know their wines and do not disappoint bottles starting around £16 without the usual 300% markup. Puds to die for.
Everything is really top notch... the dining room lovely with great views. Relax pre and post dinner in the lounges-2, or sit in the conservatory and enjoy the view of 'Cat Bells'.
I wished I was staying the night as the evening menu is a colossus.
Don't pass this place by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

From the moment you arrive until the time that you leave you are made to feel a very special guest.
An outstanding country house hotel that overs real value for money. The food and service in the dining room were, like the rest of the hotel, first class

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandpWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed had a two night stay at this lovely hotel. From the moment we walked through the door the staff were of course helpful and attentive but they were so also relaxed that we were somehow treated like 'family' and didn't feel like anything was too much trouble. It was just our place to come and go for the time we were there. It felt like a safe place for the children to wander about but also an adult place to relax and unwind in front of the fire.
We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis and the food was fabulous! Again nothing too much for the staff to do for the kids (even down to warm milk with the weetabix) if necessary but a menu that even the fussiest eater would find hard to pick over and find nothing to satisfy their appetite.
A superb base to enjoy all the lakes from and one we hope to return too again and again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Lyzzick Hall Hotel in the wonderful Lakes. A really nice country hotel with beautiful views and a warm, friendly atmosphere. Clean, spacious bedroom with excellent ensuite; indoor pool and sauna for relaxing in after a long day walking in the mountains; first rate restaurant with delicious 4-course evening menu.....breakfast not quite the same quality! Staff all very helpful and attentive. Keswick is close by offering plenty of ammenities. Overall, an excellent venue for our 25th wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the hotel face west towards the mountains.....but if your outdoors walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

.......when you visit Lyzzick for the first time.
As soon as we drove up the sweeping drive and I caught my first glimpse of Lyzzick, I was hooked. Set in beautiful natural stone within enchanting surroundings and a lovely warm welcome at reception, I knew I had discovered something really special.
What I loved most about this first visit is that it totally exceeded my expectations. I really did fall in love that day and 9 years later I am still hooked.
The stand out for me are the staff. They really are very genuine and all appear to want to be there. They are friendly and professional and don't hang about and bug you. They actually remember you too. They have a very low staff turnover which says a lot about this establishment.

Now don't get me wrong, Lyzzick Hall is not without fault, for nothing is perfect and there are some things that might not be to everyones taste here. For example the rooms do not have fridges/mini bars and there are no spa treatments available or gym facilities. There are also no lifts and snazzy ice machines and vending machines. So if this is the sort of thing you are looking for then its probably not for you.
But in my opinion they get the important things absolutely spot on which allows you enjoy the hotel experience. The rooms are always clean. The bedding is fresh. The staff are lovely. The food and dining experience is beautiful. The wine list is exceptional. The pool area is warm and inviting.
So if you enjoy a good hike up a mountain followed by sauna and jacuzzi and one of the best 4 course meals your ever likely to have, with a tip top breakfast to boot the following morning,
Then stop reading and go and book your room.
Its worth every penny.
Lyzzick Hall will be engrained in your memory forever too.

Room Tip: Catbells is the best, when you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

On my second visit to Lyzzick Hall I can confirm the food is a very high standard, the staff are friendly and the location is beautiful. The swimming Pool, Sauna and Jacuzzi are a welcome treat after an afternoon's sight seeing. The hotel atmosphere is relaxed, they don't bother with bottled water or bar fridges in the bedrooms, which suits me. For me, the highlight is the four course dinner, always beautifully presented with choices of locally sourced game. I think they get a lot of repeat customers, hopefully, that will be us too.

Room Tip: Rooms with views are at an extra cost, but from most I think you can see mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighMac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlerigg
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Castlerigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing