We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The other reviewers are right!”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend with friends on their recommendation so I read Tripadvisor afterwards. There is nothing more to add about this charming country house hotel with good food and warm, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 644 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lyzzick Hall Hotel hardly needs my endorsement it is so well liked. It is a touch of luxury that we'd looked forward to throughout all the dismal "help yourself to how much you can stomach" lukewarm breakfasts on cold plates we'd had over the last couple of years.

These breakfasts are wonderful and served to you on plates that will truly burn your fingers if you are silly enough to touch them! Surely this should be compulsory. And the evening meals are superb with plenty of choice on the 4 course menu with coffee/tea afterwards. Add to that a wine list that has something for everyone and you cannot go wrong.

The rooms are excellent too - ours was one of those on the front with amazing views of the hills. Clean and well appointed this was everything we had hoped for. It was 15 years since our last visit and sometimes you can tarnish the memories by returning.....but not in this case.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in CatBells, said to be the best room, and it was certainly a lovely room with great views in two directions.

It's owned and partly staffed by a Spanish family, and this is reflected in the menu - quails and wild boar, and lots of great Spanish wine.

The staff are uniformly friendly and efficient.

A highlight was tea on the terrace in (amazingly) Bank Holiday sunshine.

In the evenings, the 4-course set dinner is unavoidable. The food is very good, but you need a good appetite to do it justice - running up and down Skiddaw a few times before dinner might be a good idea.

Service at meals is maybe a little too speedy, and however charming the smile, it doesn't seem right to whip away one person's plate when the other is still eating, or are we alone in thinking this?

That's the only niggle, though.

Room Tip: number 2 Catbells is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewdaviesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday and it was brilliant! We stayed in the room called 'catbells' the views were to die for. All the staff were friendly and the food was brilliant! The icing on the cake was the biggest selection of riojas I have ever seen!! Cant wait to return. Well done!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment you arrive at this hotel you feel very welcomed and looked after. The hotel is set in lovely gardens beneath the hills leading to Skiddaw. The public rooms are gracious and very comfortable. Our superior bedroom was not particularly big but very comfortable with a great bathroom and all the comforts we needed. We had a swim in the pool which was good but the pool decor was feeling a little jaded but this was the only part of the hotel which felt like this - everywhere else was beautifully appointed and the orangerie was a wonderful room in which to sit prior to dinner. The food at dinner was lovely and the service was attentive if a tiny bit quick - but we really enjoyed our meal which had some real flair about it and was really good fine dining. We had a fantatsic night's sleep - the hotel was really quiet. Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room and was really delicious. The staff were wonderful. We had a great night's stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a freindly welcome, comfort, great food and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrecktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our first time at this hotel and we certainly weren't disappointed. The views over the fells are lovely, which we enjoyed from the corner of the well-kept garden on a sunny spring afternoon. Very friendly staff throughout, with excellent food and very efficient, attentive service in the restaurant. We had a very comfortable room with a very large bed a modern bathroom, my husband was particularly impressed with the lovely deep bath that filled up in minutes !! We also used the leisure facilities, which includes a sauna, a 'pool with a view' and a Jacuzzi. We would certainly visit again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked in last minute after being let down by another local hotel. What a lovely surprise, after driving past the hotel numerous times, i was amazed at the surroundings and facilities. Lovely decoration throughout but still the cosy charm. I can honestly say I felt more relaxed than I have ever done in a hotel before. The bed was so comfortable I almost felt like I was at home. The views from the room outstanding and lovely friendly staff. The food was outstanding. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catcarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlerigg
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Castlerigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Price Range: $193 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing