We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The other reviewers are right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The other reviewers are right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend with friends on their recommendation so I read Tripadvisor afterwards. There is nothing more to add about this charming country house hotel with good food and warm, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    81
    21
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
318
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lyzzick Hall Hotel hardly needs my endorsement it is so well liked. It is a touch of luxury that we'd looked forward to throughout all the dismal "help yourself to how much you can stomach" lukewarm breakfasts on cold plates we'd had over the last couple of years.

These breakfasts are wonderful and served to you on plates that will truly burn your fingers if you are silly enough to touch them! Surely this should be compulsory. And the evening meals are superb with plenty of choice on the 4 course menu with coffee/tea afterwards. Add to that a wine list that has something for everyone and you cannot go wrong.

The rooms are excellent too - ours was one of those on the front with amazing views of the hills. Clean and well appointed this was everything we had hoped for. It was 15 years since our last visit and sometimes you can tarnish the memories by returning.....but not in this case.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in CatBells, said to be the best room, and it was certainly a lovely room with great views in two directions.

It's owned and partly staffed by a Spanish family, and this is reflected in the menu - quails and wild boar, and lots of great Spanish wine.

The staff are uniformly friendly and efficient.

A highlight was tea on the terrace in (amazingly) Bank Holiday sunshine.

In the evenings, the 4-course set dinner is unavoidable. The food is very good, but you need a good appetite to do it justice - running up and down Skiddaw a few times before dinner might be a good idea.

Service at meals is maybe a little too speedy, and however charming the smile, it doesn't seem right to whip away one person's plate when the other is still eating, or are we alone in thinking this?

That's the only niggle, though.

Room Tip: number 2 Catbells is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewdaviesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday and it was brilliant! We stayed in the room called 'catbells' the views were to die for. All the staff were friendly and the food was brilliant! The icing on the cake was the biggest selection of riojas I have ever seen!! Cant wait to return. Well done!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment you arrive at this hotel you feel very welcomed and looked after. The hotel is set in lovely gardens beneath the hills leading to Skiddaw. The public rooms are gracious and very comfortable. Our superior bedroom was not particularly big but very comfortable with a great bathroom and all the comforts we needed. We had a swim in the pool which was good but the pool decor was feeling a little jaded but this was the only part of the hotel which felt like this - everywhere else was beautifully appointed and the orangerie was a wonderful room in which to sit prior to dinner. The food at dinner was lovely and the service was attentive if a tiny bit quick - but we really enjoyed our meal which had some real flair about it and was really good fine dining. We had a fantatsic night's sleep - the hotel was really quiet. Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room and was really delicious. The staff were wonderful. We had a great night's stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a freindly welcome, comfort, great food and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrecktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our first time at this hotel and we certainly weren't disappointed. The views over the fells are lovely, which we enjoyed from the corner of the well-kept garden on a sunny spring afternoon. Very friendly staff throughout, with excellent food and very efficient, attentive service in the restaurant. We had a very comfortable room with a very large bed a modern bathroom, my husband was particularly impressed with the lovely deep bath that filled up in minutes !! We also used the leisure facilities, which includes a sauna, a 'pool with a view' and a Jacuzzi. We would certainly visit again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked in last minute after being let down by another local hotel. What a lovely surprise, after driving past the hotel numerous times, i was amazed at the surroundings and facilities. Lovely decoration throughout but still the cosy charm. I can honestly say I felt more relaxed than I have ever done in a hotel before. The bed was so comfortable I almost felt like I was at home. The views from the room outstanding and lovely friendly staff. The food was outstanding. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catcarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlerigg
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
19.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
18.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Castlerigg, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Castlerigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlerigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing