We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking cabin!!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Damson Cabin

Damson Cabin traditional hand scribed cabin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Damson Cabin traditional hand scribed cabin.
Full of natural features and homely touches add to a truly unique stay. open rural views all around
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Damson Cabin traditional hand scribed cabin.
Full of natural features and homely touches add to a truly unique stay.
open rural views all around
Damson Cabins handmade kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
matthewcL...
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
“Breathtaking cabin!!! ”
Reviewed November 9, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

When we arrived we was greeted with a beautiful log cabin. Every day spent there was majical the only regret I have is not spending more time there.
Will definitely go back in the near future.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2018
Thank you for your lovely comments look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlougriff...
Kos, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Log Cabin”
Reviewed October 31, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

This Log cabin is extremely spacious and has a stunning interior. The bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Due to its location of beautiful countryside, it's peaceful and relaxing. We loved the log burner which nicely finished off the overall feeling of comfort. I have already recommended it to several friends. I can't imagine anywhere more perfect.

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip75...
2 reviews
“Nice place, pretty area, very quiet.”
Reviewed October 11, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

During our week-long stay at Damson cabin my wife and I enjoyed both the cabin and the location. The cabin has two good-sized bedrooms with a queen in one and two twins that could be (and were) joined together in the other. The one bath is spacious and the shower plumbing worked well. The kitchen is small but functional and well equipped as far as cookware and utensils. The dining and sitting areas are three steps down from the kitchen and bedrooms, very spacious, and include a wood stove.

The only negatives were nits: we'd have liked the lighting to be brighter, better suiting our 60+-year-old eyes for reading; we didn't use the wood stove because although we looked, we couldn't find instructions for it; and the hanging lights hang down to about three inches below my 6'8" height which made for some ducking in the entry area, the kitchen, and the front porch. Parking is in front of the next cabin over, and requires a short walk on a lighted (at night) gravel path around that cabin to get to Damson.

But the quiet spaciousness of the place, and its location not far from the southern Lake DIstrict (and Ulverston too) makes it a very nice place.

Date of stay: October 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseS26...
2 reviews
“Breathtaking ”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a wonderful stay we’ve had in damson cabin, The craftsmanship of this log cabin is beyond words, we was blown away!!
It was our first stay and definitely not our last.
The personal touches from Andrew and louise was very welcoming, the beautiful daffodils on the table to the welcome pack of tasty treats and red wine was so thoughtful!
The views from the log cabin are breathtaking.
We visited ulverston, Lake Windermere and conniston on our little break and was in easy access to this amazing log cabin.
The owners are extremely warm and friendly which is always a plus.
We look forward to visiting this magical, cosy, comfortable log cabin again.
Well recommended x

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2018
Conhrstulations to you both so glad you had a lovely stay. L
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alan C
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real log cabin solid and beautifully designed with lovely personal touches and charm”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The location is secluded and very quite and a great place to get away from things surrounded by countryside looking across to the hills on one side and the sea of Morecambe bay on the other.

Its very close to Hoad hill and the Sir John Barrow monument with breathtaking views across Morecambe bay and the hills across as far as the Cumbrian mountains including Scafell Pike inland, its close to the town of Ulverston and walkable across fields, a track or on the road.

Lake Coniston and the village is only 30 mins drive away and Windermere slightly further.

The cabin itself is very solid build from logs and not as others and is very spacious with split level living/dining/kitchen area with 2 double bedrooms and a unique and lovely bathroom. It has a small garden and deck to sit outside and watch the sun go down and whilst eating dinner or for lunch whilst using the small garden.

Lovely personal touches by Louise and Andrew with a complementary bottle of wine, flowers, biscuits, tea, coffee, sugar and a small bottle of milk so that you can instantly relax on arrival and feel at home.

Washing machine and drier are shared and in a utility building close by so we could wash after the first of our 2 week stay.

My wife and I really loved our stay and it really was perfect for us with our 3 year old daughter with us all at home and sad to leave.

We hope to be back again soon even for another holiday, long weekend or short stop onward to Scotland and have more time just in the cabin and around there as we had to be out most of the time to see all the beautiful places around.

A perfect base for walkers, ramblers or avid fell runners, or endurance athletes or those just looking to get away from everything and enjoy some real tranquility.

We are missing it and it took some adjustment back to our 3 bed terrace house.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonApse...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation in the Lakes”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The dilemma about reviewing somewhere as good as Newlands Valley Log cabins, is that when everybody catches on to these genuinely wonderful cabins, it becomes difficult to rebook. But I will put the dilemma to one side and just say how wonderful our stay was. Our cabin ( Pear Tree Cabin) was beautifuly constructed from Siberian logs and immaculately furnished throughout. It was easy to see that the owners had put an enormous amount of love and care into the design and build of the cabins and being surrounded by rolling hills, it gave a very authentic feel of an alpine cabin. in fact it felt so authentic, I half expected Julie Andrews to come running over the hill outside my bedroom window every morning singing ^The hills are alive^ The cabin came with a lovely wood burning stove which despite the mild weather I had to light and open a bottle of wine that the owners had kindly provided on our arrival, and relaxed after a hard days sightseeing of the Lakes. I am so glad we didn't hire a traditional stone cottage or Hotel on our visit to Cumbria but found this idyllic accommodation instead. If you want a truly relaxing holiday in the Lakes, I cannot think of anywhere better to stay at. Will we be returning to Pear Tree Cabin? Is Tea a drink with Jam and Bread!! Just hope the secret doesn't get out to quickly though.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments Lx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing