We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely village”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Oronsay

Master bedroom with ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom with ensuite
Master bedroom with ensuite Front of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Master bedroom with ensuite
Master bedroom with ensuite
Front of house
View of Urswick Tarn from the back door
Newly installed modern kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge with Log fire
Lounge with Log fire
Dining Room
Dining Room
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Bright and spacious twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedoom alternate view
Bright and newly fitted family bathroom with jacuzzi bath
Landing from top of the stairs
Landing leading into the twin & one of the double bedrooms
Landing looking from the back bedroom
Garden
View of the village coming down from Birkrigg
Urswick VIllage
Urswick Tarn in the winter
View of Coniston Old Man from Birkrigg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blondisla...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I booked a weekend here with a group of friends. The cottage was beautiful with lots of period features and a cosy log fire. The house was a good size for us and there was plenty of room to relax and cook in the kitchen. We had a very comfortable stay here. The garden is lovely and well maintained. In the village there are 2 good country pubs and a tarn which was great to run or stroll around. It's well located for visiting the lakes and the directions provided by the owner made it easy to find. I will definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone looking for a break with family or friends in the lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allard1
2 reviews
“Cosy yet spacious - everything we wanted!”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent in every respect. A lovely cottage (2 knocked into one - and so spacious too), centrally located in a beautiful village. Very well equipped - and tastefully decorated. Ideal for our wedding party of 7, and Rachel was so helpful in all aspects of our booking. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciWrigh...
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect xxxx”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I booked this holiday as a Christmas present to my family so that we could all enjoy some quality family time together.
It was just wonderful - the facilities were just what we needed and the lounge area was great for games and general socialising. The bedrooms were cosy and beautifully decorated and the location was quiet and peaceful with plenty of attractions just a car journey away.
And the best bit of all was that my nan, who hasn't been on holiday for quite a while, didn't stop laughing all weekend. She loved it!
Great memories made in a lovely place. Thank you so much xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing, Family friendly getaway”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We loved this cottage! it was large and spacious, family friendly and warm. We stayed for Christmas and they decorated it and made it nice and festive. it has a lovely fireplace and was absolutely all we could ask for. It is right on a big lake so it is very picturesque! We cant rave about this place enough.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA A
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Beautiful cottage in a quiet village. We really enjoyed our stay. Just a few minutes from Ulverston where you can do your shopping. The cottage really feels like a home, I would strongly recommend staying at Oronsay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage.
Liked least: No mobile phone signal in the cottage (but a landline and wifi is available and there is signal outside)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarePove...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A beautiful cottage and perfect place for a relaxing break. Everything we could have asked for. Traditional yet holds all of the essential mod cons such as wifi, central heating, good shower, clean new kitchen and a wide screen TV. The location is perfect for walks, with one lake just opposite the cottage. The closest pub is very traditional and the next serves fantastic food. There's also a supermarket nearby for any essentials you may need. We would definitely return and have already recommended to family and friends! A little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stv_pov
uk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally situated for heading out into the various attractions of the Lake District. Within a short walk of two good pubs (one serving very good food) and a tarn opposite your front gate can't get much better. The cottage is spacious, cosy and packed with wifi, dab radio, flat screen hd TV, Central heating if required, en-suite double bedroom, two other doubles and a twin. Nice garden, good walks , 5 mins from Uvlerston and any shopping you may need.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing