We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is lovely - definitely recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Ranked #6 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I went here on Saturday night with a friend after hearing great reviews. It was warm and welcoming inside, not a huge menu but still something for everyone, food was lovely and very good quality and filling. Some meals have 2 prices next to them so you can choose your portion size via this, I opted for the large fish & chips, think i will go smaller next time so i can fit a dessert in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaisieMooD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 211 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely weekend in the Lakes, staying at the Farmers Arms. This is reputed as being one of the oldest pubs in the Lakes. Staff were very friendly, and the food was good old fashioned fayre, with some lovely daily specials, the portions were plentiful, and had to force down the lovely Chocolate lumpy bumpy....:) Breakfast too was very good, lots of choices for a cooked, and very nicely cooked. My husband had the kippers, they were lovely. Our room, was quite large and although the view not good, but hey, the room was only for sleeping and changing. I must say that bed was one of the comfiest we had slept in, my husband wanted to bring it home.!! Would stay here again, if we were ever in this part of the lakes again.

Room Tip: Room 2 was over the public bar, but this is a pub, and it was quiet when we went to bed, so if you w...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

stayed therefor only 1 night very enjoyable would stay again. meals were excellent value for money staff were brilliant couldn't do enough.would recommend this to my friends and family and will be back again soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duncan289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Whilst holidaying in the Lake District my husband and I called into this hotel and were very surprised at the high standard of the meal.

The meal was most enjoyable in lovely comfortable surroundings with very friendly bar staff.

Would recommend this establishment have a bill board outside on the main road as we nearly drove past it. A hidden gem.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and had dinner on both nights. Firstly the food is superb - the venison and gammon are highly recommended. Book in advance as it is very busy at the weekend. Bar prices are reasonable too. Re the hotel, firstly don't confuse it with the Farmers arms in Ulverston - this one is out on the road to Coniston and out of the town. It is a 17th century inn and has all the charm of an age gone by - small doors, wooden beams and low ceilings. The rooms are small in comparison to the more modern hotels and are not as well laid out as they could be. Don't worry though as the surroundings make up for this. The owners and staff cannot do enough for you and breakfast is great. It is ideally located if you want some history combined with the countryside and easy access to Coniston as well as the Furness peninsula .

Room Tip: Room 4 is slightly bigger than most and has a modern shower room. It does not have easy access as ha...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This pub/restaurant/hotel is within a ten minute drive of home. I have not been here for close to 50 years when I was a frequent visitor and, yes, I do know the history of the place! So it was quite a surprise to see how some things have changed. Sunday lunchtimes may not be a good time to visit with masses of children and various adults requiring feeding.. the place was crowded so that means popular!

The food. Very good especially considereing the demands on the staff to keep the place running smoothly. Our meal was the usual roast beef; that was excellent, the Yorkshire puds also and the roast potatoes and veg.

Recommended but I plan to go mid week when the children aren't around and I can try the a la carte menu and snoop around the "antiques!"

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely welcome. We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming, nothing was to much trouble and I was taken to my room.
Lots of character to this old pub.
the room was clean and really spacious with plenty of teas,coffees and biscuits provided. Nice to have a music centre.
the service was excellent, as was the wine and evening meal.
The landlord /lady Debs Angus were very friendly, breakfast was very good and plentiful,
I would recommend this to my friends and look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
4.2 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
76 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
40 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,019 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#3 of 8 in Ulverston
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in Ulverston
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms Lowick Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms Lowick Green

Address: Lowick Green | Lowick Green, Ulverston LA12 8DT, England (Formerly The Farmers Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: $76 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Arms Lowick Green 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Lake Disrtict National park. The Farmers Arms dates back to 1360 retaining many of its original features. Relax after a day of site seeing or a long business trip in the bar with its original oak beams and open log fire. Enjoy a drink and home cooked meal in the atmosphere of the Old Inn. Coniston and Windermere are only a 10min drive away. Visit the market town Ulverton with its cobbled streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Farmers Arms Lowick Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing