We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had traditional roast beef lunch here and can recommend it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Ranked #7 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Had traditional roast beef lunch here and can recommend it.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This pub/restaurant/hotel is within a ten minute drive of home. I have not been here for close to 50 years when I was a frequent visitor and, yes, I do know the history of the place! So it was quite a surprise to see how some things have changed. Sunday lunchtimes may not be a good time to visit with masses of children and various adults requiring feeding.. the place was crowded so that means popular!

The food. Very good especially considereing the demands on the staff to keep the place running smoothly. Our meal was the usual roast beef; that was excellent, the Yorkshire puds also and the roast potatoes and veg.

Recommended but I plan to go mid week when the children aren't around and I can try the a la carte menu and snoop around the "antiques!"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    65
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
105
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenglass, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely welcome. We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming, nothing was to much trouble and I was taken to my room.
Lots of character to this old pub.
the room was clean and really spacious with plenty of teas,coffees and biscuits provided. Nice to have a music centre.
the service was excellent, as was the wine and evening meal.
The landlord /lady Debs Angus were very friendly, breakfast was very good and plentiful,
I would recommend this to my friends and look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Over the last three years I've been a regular visitor and it has grown from strength to strength to become one of the most popular hotels / pubs in the south lakes area. It has something to offer any visitor from excellent food and beer to pool and darts for the more "sporty". It's spotlessly clean and toasty warm with log fires in winter. But the key element that makes it so special is the management and staff, always on hand to serve with a smile and nothing is too much trouble. There's no wonder where ever you go in the world there's a chance you'll meet someone who's been to the Farmers at Lowick!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionay253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My room was above the bar so very noisy! My room hadn't been cleaned properly, cobwebs everywhere, loved the addition of a water bottle plastic cap left within the imitation cotton wool balls! Sheets & towel were changed...when ever! Bath loved the pubic hairs in the tub for 3 days! Thank goodness the shower was separate! Food good but couldn't cater for intolerances even tho I'd advised them at booking. As I stayed for 4 nights I'd've thought they'd do more than just cooked breakfast - they didn't even check if sausages were gluten free. Free wifi the ad outside says, but it literally depends where you sit in the building! Oh & it's not available in your room! Wouldn't go back. Red Lion down the road much better!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil_Suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel, the oldest in Cumbria, has a great atmosphere and location. The staff, especially the proprietors, are very friendly and welcoming, their service was excellent. The food is of high quality, well cooked and attractively presented. The choice of wines is quite good and reasonably priced. We now visit for Sunday lunch ever other week. A great place to eat! beats other local restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnydipper884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming, nothing was to much for them, the service was excellent, as was the beer and food.The staff were very accommodating and always busy, but always there when you needed something.
The hotel itself was very clean and well laid out, plenty of teas, coffee, biscuits etc in the rooms, very soft bed and pillows, with a huge car park.We were going to eat out at other pubs in the area, but found the meals to be good value for money and excellent so we ate there for four nights.

The landlady Debs and her husband, Angus were very sociable and very friendly, breakfast was very good and plentiful, i would recommend this to my friends

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesfamily92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Family of four had lovely meal, the roast was excellent we had a nice meal and good value for money, service was good, reception into restaurant could be better, the bar man seemed to be doing a lot of organising on his own !! other than that great highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncairns1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
4.2 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
75 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
39 reviews
4.2 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#3 of 8 in Ulverston
43 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#5 of 26 in Ulverston
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms Lowick Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms Lowick Green

Property: The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Address: Lowick Green | Lowick Green, Ulverston LA12 8DT, England (Formerly The Farmers Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Arms Lowick Green 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Lake Disrtict National park. The Farmers Arms dates back to 1360 retaining many of its original features. Relax after a day of site seeing or a long business trip in the bar with its original oak beams and open log fire. Enjoy a drink and home cooked meal in the atmosphere of the Old Inn. Coniston and Windermere are only a 10min drive away. Visit the market town Ulverton with its cobbled streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Farmers Arms Lowick Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing