We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms but eat elsewere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Ranked #9 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2012

oldie worldie pub with rooms and restaurant. our room was large warm and had a comfortable large bed. tv/cd/radio. bathroom was fully functioning with overbath shower and plenty of hot water. but could do with an upgrade, very seventies! service was somewhat curt.

I'm afraid the restaurant suffers from an over use of microwave cooking. bland food either just warm or too microwave hot. Probably, no definitley, need to change the cook( I wouldnt call him a chef!) We ate only one night and after that eat just a couple of hundred yards down the side lane at the Royal Oak.which had roaring log fires, excellent food and friendly service.

Room Tip: rooms 2 & 3 are overlooked by the "secret cottage" opposite, so need to close curtains...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISHKANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 211 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed overnight in Feb 12
The B&B was at a special rate very good value as well. There is a choice for breakfast but I always like the full english.
We had a meal in the restaurant which again was very good and was busy as it was a friday night.

I hope to visit the Farmers Arms again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickracer077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Digged here for a month or two.
Food great (Game pie - delicious), Staff really friendly (Cheers Angus and Debbie), rooms clean and tidy. Would go back again, no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The staff were excellent but I can't say the same for the food. The starter was excellent but the main course was serveed with a thick gravy which I can only describe as treacle in it's consistency, the starter was excellent but even the dessert was a revelation, the cheesecake had no crunch in the base and for £25 I felt badly let down, I would sooner have been snowed in and lost my £10 deposit. Even if the gravy had been seperate it wouldn't have poured from a gravy boat it was that thick!!!!!!
Somebody really needs to have a word with the chef, we complained on the night but will it change!! it deperately needs to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterfly1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a lovely old building..low beams, fireplaces etc but it is a pub and noise from the bars is to be expected. The food is pub type food and the breakfast fine if you like a full english - black pudding and all. We found the service on occasion very slow This seemed to coincide with times the landlady was absent..That said it is an ideal place to tour the lakes and the prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the bar area
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabethjane064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My visit was for a fishing and walking break. The weather varied from attrocious to just plain bad but the Farmers Arms was superb. The owners and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The beer excellent and food super. I could not fault any part of the establishment. It was comfortable, clean, very well run and welcoming. Watch out for low beams. Try the haggis and black pudding roulade as a starter - excellent. I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrahamThirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed for 3 days at The Farmers Arms, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Owners and staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms and facilities were all clean. The food was FANTASTIC with a MaSsIve Breakfast.
Thank you for the friendliness, cleanliness, good food, and good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briansmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
4.2 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
76 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
40 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
9.9 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#3 of 8 in Ulverston
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms Lowick Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms Lowick Green

Address: Lowick Green | Lowick Green, Ulverston LA12 8DT, England (Formerly The Farmers Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: $75 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Arms Lowick Green 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Lake Disrtict National park. The Farmers Arms dates back to 1360 retaining many of its original features. Relax after a day of site seeing or a long business trip in the bar with its original oak beams and open log fire. Enjoy a drink and home cooked meal in the atmosphere of the Old Inn. Coniston and Windermere are only a 10min drive away. Visit the market town Ulverton with its cobbled streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Farmers Arms Lowick Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing