We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Ranked #7 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed for 3 days at The Farmers Arms, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Owners and staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms and facilities were all clean. The food was FANTASTIC with a MaSsIve Breakfast.
Thank you for the friendliness, cleanliness, good food, and good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briansmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 219 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel.. we just had a meal, (About 7pm on a September Monday). A very friendly welcome; excellent, quick service, and good, tasty food. Main courses came with bowl containing a selection of perfectly cooked vegetables. We will return on our next trip to the Lakes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter-Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed for a few days at The Farmers Arms, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Owners and staff were all friendly and helpful. There is a selection of double and also single rooms and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms and facilities were all clean. The food was good, with a plentiful breakfast and we had two very good evening dinners in the large restaurant area. Parts of the pub are extremely old and full of character, with low doors, beams, and large fireplaces, and in one bar, large polished flagstones on the floor.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much for the friendliness, cleanliness, good food, and good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary19scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I eat at the Farmers quite often as I live only a short drive away, and believe it to be one of the better value places to dine in the area.

Despite a recent price increase, the food is of a high standard for the cost. A Sunday roast, for example, is £7.45. On a recent visit, I had Spiced Duck cooked in a plum and ginger jus served with with coriander potatoes, and vegetables, one of the nicest meals I have had for quite a while, at £12.95 it was great value given the quality of the produce and high standard of cooking.

The menu offers a good choice of meals, including some lovely fish dishes, which many pub food menus lack, and is complimented by a specials board and steak menu.

The informal service is warm and friendly.

Recently, a "stable bar" has opened at the pub, which has a pool table, giving families with kids an alternative space to the quiet restaurant area.

Highly recommended to lovers of good food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Parklife93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just like the average meal portion size in Cumbria, we got more than we bargained for! We were in the area for a friend's wedding and the Farmers Arms cottages / apartments were a great base.

As a young family, the apartments were ideal since we could put baby down in the bedroom whilst we crashed in front of the telly next door. Normally this would be quite an investment, but the cost is about the same as a normal hotel room.

We also ate at the pubs restaurant on the first night. The staff we're really friendly, portions mountainous and tasty. Just right for a local restaurant/pub and great to see a few locals brews on offer.

Room Tip: if you arrive out of winter, check the storage heaters are off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordSalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

got there early 1pm room was ready no fuss taken up clean roomy four poster, clean big basthroom..enjoyed the building looked like an inn should be...plenty sitting out places..had food in the eveing nice staff, enjoed the food, served well, put it on the bill...next day after a good nights sleep (pillow a wee bit lumpy) no big deal ..really nice breakfast..nice bacon..we left with a pleasant good bye from everyone...saw the bill and was charged for a drink we did not have..but did not go back to have a go as we were happy with everything else ..no doubt an honest mistake....will go back for sure..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollydettolnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We’d heard good things about this pub and the food was OK. It’s fairly big, can accommodate quite a few people in the restaurant area and seemed to be popular with the locals. Sadly the service was incredibly bad and let the place down. We asked where to sit and then tried to catch the eye of a waitress for the next 30 mins. They forgot we were sat right there in front of them and served 3 tables who arrived after us. We helped ourselves to the menu from the bar and asked the bar staff to order the food for us. The waitresses aknowledged we were there and then forgot us again. The bar staff were much more organised and attentive but were consequently very busy in an attempt to compensate.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobLong214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#1 of 26 in Ulverston
160 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Ulverston
95 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ulverston
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 6 in Ulverston
42 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#5 of 26 in Ulverston
108 reviews
6.6 mi away
No photo provided
The Loft Gallery
#24 of 26 in Ulverston
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms Lowick Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms Lowick Green

Address: Lowick Green | Lowick Green, Ulverston LA12 8DT, England (Formerly The Farmers Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: $94 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Arms Lowick Green 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Lake Disrtict National park. The Farmers Arms dates back to 1360 retaining many of its original features. Relax after a day of site seeing or a long business trip in the bar with its original oak beams and open log fire. Enjoy a drink and home cooked meal in the atmosphere of the Old Inn. Coniston and Windermere are only a 10min drive away. Visit the market town Ulverton with its cobbled streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Farmers Arms Lowick Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing