We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$71
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Mary's Mount Manor(Ulverston)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green(Ulverston)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rock House(Ulverston)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Virginia House(Ulverston)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crosslands Farm(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
184
4
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseorganic toiletriessausagelovely bathroom productsluxurious stayrolling countrysideunique shopsbig comfy bedchurrascohighest qualityspacious roomsmall fridgejust returned from a night staysuited us perfectlystar serviceevery morningevery respect
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 191 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018

We stayed in the beautifully converted barn. Really comfortable big bed, luxurious, spacious and airy room on the top floor of a converted barn on the outskirts of Ulverston. Plenty of room to spread out in the evening (or during bad weather). Great spacious and luxurious shower room well stocked with eco-friendly products. Breakfast was brought to us by Sam the following morning. Fresh organic fruit (piles and piles of it) and then the most delicious cooked breakfast (meat and veggie versions). Very tasty, please listen out for and help Sam up the stairs when she brings your breakfast across from the main house. You are in a private and luxurious barn conversion so it's very private and peaceful with all the amenities of a thoughtfully and well run B&B. Beautiful views of the rolling countryside with a private garden to sit in. My recommendation is to email and ask Sam if you have a question or are looking for somewhere to eat in the evening she is very knowledgable and helpful. Sam helped us to book a table for supper in Ulverston (way beyond the call of duty). Thank you for a wonderful relaxing stay!

Room Tip: Contact Sam by email she is very knowledgable and helpful
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank camnoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Wow, thank you for such an amazing review. I am so pleased that you both had a great stay and enjoyed all that Candlewyck and Ulverston has to offer.
I hope to see you again and look forward to looking after you both again then.
Thanks again, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights up at candlewyck barn bed and breakfast and we absolutely enjoyed it, it was our second stay here and we totally loved it again, the barn was great same as the last time we stayed, daria bought our breakfast up every morning, which was lovely, really enjoyed it, booked it again for next year just sad we had to go home but we are looking forward to next year, bring it on.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Upon arrival we were greeted and shown up to the 1st level of the barn. The room was lovely and airy with a comfy bed, lots of seating space, lots of light and a view of the rolling countryside....what more can you ask.

Was a very short walk into the centre of Ulverston for dinner - I would recommend booking a restaurant for dinner as we struggled to get in anywhere as it is such a small-town.

Breakfast was served up in the barn and was great; fantastic yoghurt and fruit with a very tasty fry up with the local meet on show.

As we were walking the Cumbria Way, Sam also let us keep the car there for 5 days until our return.

Thanks Sam was a great stay and all the best!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coxjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you for staying at Candlewyck, it was lovely to look after you both and hope you enjoyed your Cumbria Way walk. Our pleasure in terms of looking after your car for the week. Hopefully see you again soon, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Stayed in the barn which is very modern, spacious and nicely furnished. Love the White Company towels and comfortable bed. Made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank annedunn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Thank you for staying, it was lovely meeting you and looking after you both. Hopefully see you again soon. Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

I have stayed at candlewyck on several occasions and cannot speak highly enough about the quality of the accommodation, the tranquil location and amazing breakfast. I will certainly stay here as often as I possibly can when next in the area.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam D, Manager at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Thank you for your review and it is always a please for us to look after you. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Many thanks, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews