We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
184
4
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseorganic toiletriessausagelovely bathroom productsluxurious stayrolling countrysideunique shopsbig comfy bedchurrascohighest qualityspacious roomsmall fridgejust returned from a night staysuited us perfectlystar serviceevery morningevery respect
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 191 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

The barn is beautifully appointed with lots of little extra special touches, warm, light and spacious. Amazing breakfast! The garden was brilliant as we had our dogs with us.
We were made to feel very welcome look forward to visiting again soon.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Excursion535652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Friday, We arrived at Candlewyck somewhat later than planned due to delays on the M6, we were met by a lovely lady called Daria who made us feel very welcome and made us a coffee on arrival which was very much appreciated (1 gold star). Also when booking via email offered to book us an evening meal at a choice of local restaurants (another gold star). We promptly abandoned our luggage, the room was nice and had all the little luxuries one would expect and chocolates :-) we then headed towards town for a wander. Plenty of unique shops and places to eat or drink, We went to an Italian called Bettulas, food was good and reasonably priced. Back to b&b to recharge after shopping trip 1 and let the arms recover! Saturday, for breakfast (the choices were asked for the day before) Good selection on offer, cereals, fruit juice, yoghurt , fruit, toast, coffee etc, as a highly trained athlete(not) I went for the cooked breakfast (which was superb, gold star number 3) and cereal and toast and Greek yoghurt with honey in (Fave), my better half also had yoghurt, fruit and toast. Shopping trip 2, more purchases required to burn off the mornings calorie fest, walked the whole of the town centre twice to ensure we hadn't missed anything and we were now in a calorie deficit, Gillams tea room for replenishment, followed by more shopping and some well deserved afternoon drinks in the wine bar Avanti Capitola, good service again reasonably priced. Met Sam that evening who was very pleasant, had a good chat and lots of information was imparted (gold star number 4). We went to a Chinese restaurant that evening called Jade Restaurant, food was good, service mediocre, reasonably priced. Also went to the monument at the top of Hoad Hill, worth a look, great views on a Clear day.
To summarise if your still reading! Lovely upmarket B&B in a nice little town, A big thank you to the hosts who couldn't do enough for us and we look forward to returning in the new year.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thank you both for staying and for your great review Jon, it has really made me smile.
It was a pleasure to look after you both and look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks again, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

arrived on Friday 6/10/17 to a welcome from Sam, stayed for 3 nights in the barn conversion was really clean and beautiful. The breakfast was excellent and we had a really relaxing time. We would definitely be coming back for our third visit.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Tremendous breakfast, Lovely people too.
They just made our time in Cumbria so restful.
We were shown all the rooms, so we could see each for real,in advance of our NEXT visit.
All the rooms are so well decorated and appointed.

Thank you so much. Ps IT'S A BnB, but I have still ticked the "hotel" options below as there are NO OTHERS!!

Room Tip: Barn room is the largest, the other 2 are in the main house, and so comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

This was a lovely stay in the barn room. Candlewyck feels like it's in the middle of the countryside but is a quick walk down into Ulveston which is a lovely town with lots of places to eat and full of independent shops. Our room had tasteful decor, great bed and shower with organic toiletries. We were welcomed by Daria who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, she even booked us in somewhere for an evening meal. Wonderful breakfast too.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank danusia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews