We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Start to the Cumbria Way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Long trips are colored by their beginnings, and as we began a 28-day visit to England in May (with the Cumbria Way footpath's 78 miles the first order of pleasure) our choice of Candlewyck Barn B&B as our first stopover quickly set a friendly, down-to-earth tone that lasted throughout our adventures.

After a tiring flight to Manchester we settled in for the two-your train ride to Ulverston, where a taxi delivered us to the B&B. Those were well-spent pounds, as the walk across town is a bit far even if your luggage is minimal. Splurge on the hire (it's cheap) and save your energy for exploring Ulverston later.

Rachael greeted us with a country smile when we arrived and showed us to a room that was clean, very comfortable, and QUIET-the B&B sits at the edge of town, but isn't too far from restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing. And what was that just down the narrow lane outside, viewed from our window? Yes, it was the Cumbria Way, barely out of Ulverston and WAITING. But that was another day away-Sam, Candlewyck's energetic owner, had suggested an advance booking for supper at the Farmer's when we registered with her, and after we'd freshened up we were off to dinner.

We stayed busy in Ulverston during the too-short time we were there, and were satisfied in every way with Candlewyck. Breakfasts-local meats, produce, and eggs, with sunshine pouring through the kitchen windows-were hearty and delicious, and served with a charm that reminds you why you chose a B&B. If we're fortunate and someday return to Ulverston, we'll happily stay at Candlewyck again. Cheers!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 181 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I, my daughter and partner, my son and his family stayed at the Candlewyck B & B for a couple of nights whist attending a wedding in the area. We were very lucky to find such a friendly, clean and welcoming place to stay. I am not prone to writing reviews such as this but I was very impressed. While I thought that all the rooms were clean and comfortable, I thought the "Barn" family room was extra special. Breakfast was delicious.
Sam(antha), the owner, was friendly and helpful.
I would have no qualms in recommending this B & B to anyone. Thanks again Sam.

Room Tip: While all the rooms were clean and comfortable, the "Barn" was more like a suite, beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firebucket999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a fantastic place fantastic host Sam she could not do enough to ensure all your needs were met and more.The Barn where we stayed was emaculate. From the bedding to the organic soap, hand wash, body lotion, shower gel. Brilliant. Breakfeast was to die for, all organic, all home grown. The only word to describe Candlewyck is FANTASTIC !!!. I would even go as far to say that this is the best valued B&B ever.Thanks again SAM

Room Tip: We stayed in barn....... fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthYorkshireYol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were so impressed by candlewyck and stayed in the barn annexe for 3 nights. The room was beautifully appointed with excellent quality towels (white company!) and bedding. The locally sourced, sedburgh toiletries were so nice and a treat to use. The room was very well equipped and spacious too. The view out of the window each morning of fields, hills, sheep and the stream topped our stay off wonderfully. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergieTA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent just one night here with our two year old, couldn't have chose a better place. Although it was only the one night it felt like longer because it was so relaxing and comfortable, we were really made to feel at home. We even got to see the pigs being fed! Would definitely return, especially for the delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen26uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our first visit to Candlewyck Barn was provided as a two night birthday treat to explore the Furness Peninsula in some comfort and style, which Candlewyck provided in abundance ! It's hard to add to the many favourable comments already provided by previous travellers except to say they are all true. We stayed in the main house in a beautifully appointed comfortable bedroom adjacent to the large bathroom of which we had exclusive use with it's spacious shower, free standing bath and use of it's wonderful toiletries. Being literally the last property on a quiet lane leading north from Ulverston the house felt very rural with beautiful views and yet conveniently close to all the usual amenities of a small market town. It was lovely to stroll up the lane in the morning listening to the birdsong before returning to the large airy kitchen dining room and having a friendly chat with Sam (the owner) or Rachel as they freshly cooked a fantastic breakfast to our individual requirements. We were given a door key and on return from our excursions it really felt as though we were letting ourselves into our own home as we had been made to feel so welcome. Tea & coffee facilities in the room were plentiful and excellent. As a bonus Sam offered to book meals at the local Farmers Arms which was unfortunately fully booked, but she did manage to get us places at The Rose & Crown and The Mill in Ulverston at both of which we enjoyed tasty evening meals.Come rain or shine there is plenty to see around Ulverston. We enjoyed the walk to the Barrow Monument on nearby Hoad Hill, visits to Furness Abbey, Dalton Castle and the Budhist Temple at Conisburgh Priory and when it rained The Docks Museum at Barrow was excellent and free ! We look forward to returning to Candlewyck and possibly staying in The Barn Studio as it too sounds fabulous.

Room Tip: We would normally have requested the room in the Barn Studio as it seemed to provide more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have just spent a perfect anniversary weekend at Candlewyck on the recommendation of my sister. We stayed in the Barn Studio and it was fabulous - a real oasis of calm. It is perfectly situated in a location that is rural and yet only a 10 minute walk into Ulverston. We spent a lovely few hours at the Buddhist temple nearby, from where we were able to do a walk along the beach. They do lovely baguettes at the weekend! We were really impressed and hope to be able to return soon and enjoy Sam's hospitality again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
2.0 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in Ulverston
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St Mary's Mount Manor
St Mary's Mount Manor
#13 of 26 in Ulverston
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#14 of 26 in Ulverston
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Candlewyck Old Hall Road, Ulverston LA12 7DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: $87 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing