We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great little cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge A well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Lounge
A well equipped kitchen
Up-Stairs
The Lounge
The Lounge
Local Cows
The playground
Local farm shop
The hoad monument
High Sweden bridge
Above High Sweden bridge
Windermere from Waterhead
Ulverston Channel
Roan head beach
Roan head
Phinlain Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MattTonge...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great little cottage”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Phinlain cottage is in a small, quiet village but was very easy to find. Its location was absolutely perfect for us as we were visiting the South Lakes Wild Animal Park, which was a mere 10 minute drive away, and Bowness-on-Windermere, also a relatively short journey.

The cottage itself is very nice and had everything we needed for our stay. Having a one year old meant we stayed in on an evening - we used the kitchen to make our dinners and watched one of the dvds - heating on, curled up on the sofa with hot food and a bottle of wine, perfect!!

Sean, the owner, was extremely helpful prior to our stay, replying promptly to all messages and, knowing we were arriving late on the first night, set up the cot for us.

All in all a great place to stay, brilliant value - I expect we'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2015
We're glad you had a lovely stay and thank you so much for your kind comments. Best wishes, Sean and Flora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther A
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a handy location”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed at Phinlain cottage for a long weekend in September. Cottage is cosy, has a small but very well equipped kitchen (we easily cooked two dinners) and is in a great location for exploring the south lakes. Sean left very thorough instructions for our stay and there's a small selection of DVDs and books as well as a well stocked pile of information leaflets in the cottage when you arrive. Very short drive into Ulverston where there is a Tesco express (7-11 everyday) and a host of restaurants (though book on a Saturday night, it gets busy). Overall a great stay and would come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Thanks for your thoughtful review.

Just drop me a line if you want to come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An enjoyable, homely place to stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Having found the cottage, it's tucked away in a small village, we were very pleased with the cleanliness and mixture of oldy-worldy plus modern facilities. Certainly a comfortable little place to stay and within easy reach of all the walking areas you might want to explore around the South Lakes area.

Locals were very welcoming and we highly recommend the Wellington Inn opposite the cottage for an evening's relaxation. Would definitely stay again. Tip - the restaurants in Ulverston were packed on the Saturday night and I suggest booking a table beforehand

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable, great location
Liked least: Parking was a lottery on pub quiz night (we were warned!)
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2015
Thank you for lovely comments - and good advice to future visitors; book ahead on Saturday evenings!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr1glyph
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need for a comfortable stay in Western Lakes”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Narrow street but I had no problems parking. Stayed 4 days for a family gathering in Barrow, but would happily use as a base for touring. Slight disappointment that the chimney was blocked by birds nest, so couldn't use the fire, but at least the weather was mild!
Phone signal erratic

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped, comfortable, good pub very close
Liked least: lack of wifi, chimney blocked, steep stairs, no shop nearby
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2015
Thank you for your comments - The cage over the chimney has cured the bird's nest problem for future guests. (sorry to the birds!).
We find the mobile phone signal best in the garden. Also, we now have wifi (installed since this guest review), so messaging is much easier than it was.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2015
Thank you so much for these lovely comments. We love it, too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mattsafac...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy, clean, peaceful cottage.”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife and I stayed in Phinlain cottage in April 14. It's in a quiet rural area with a welcoming pub just a stone's throw away. The cottage was really clean with modern furniture and was very comfortable. The heating and hot water took a little figuring out but instructions were provided along with almost everything we needed. We didn't actually need to speak to Sean as everything we needed for our 3 night stay was close at hand. There is a small garden with chairs to sit out and a lovely view over a field often populated with cows. The Wellington Pub was great with friendly people who showed us the microbrewery they have within the pub itself and the produce they make is fully recommended. Bedrooms fine with storage space. 2nd bedroom with bunks and a travel cot bed and a high chair for a little one. Lovely living room with TV. Kitchen well stocked with utensils and fridge/washing machine. Bathroom on ground floor was spotless and good quality shower. My only gripes were that there was no DVD player or Wifi which would have been good in what is a poor mobile phone reception area but that may not be important to everyone.
Overall this is a lovely place to stay and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a quiet break away from it all. Thanks to Sean for making all arrangements in terms of collecting keys and leaving lots of instructions about the house for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness and cleanliness of the property.
Liked least: No WiFi, DVD player.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2014
We listened! We now have wi-fi, a DVD player and a variety of DVDs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reece H
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice, clean and cosy”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Phinlain cottage has to be of the best cottages I have stayed in!
you have everything you need in the house, it is very clean and cosy, you don't struggle to find a place to put your belonging as there is plenty of storage.
All the locals are very nice and make you welcome on arrival, you must go to the wellington pub it is very nice pub and the landlords is very nice and helpful if you don't know your way round.
there is nothing I could say to make the cottage better as it is perfect inside and outside
Would love to come back in the summer time and I will be doing just hope the weather is better, went for 4 days and I can say it really isn't long enough, I would of loved to stay for longer
Also would like to give Sean a big thank you for making it nice and clean for when we got there and helping with any questions I had to ask, will be in touch to book again

THANKYOU!!!
Reece HIll

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2015
Thank you for your kind words...especially about the storgage! Sean tells me that i'm obsessed with finding storage space. I think I'll print out this review to prove to him that it really matters!
We hope to welcome you back again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing