We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere ”
Review of The Farmers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farmers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere ”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This pub is nice. A local beer on tap. Very printable wine by the glass too. Bar at the front. Restaurant at the back. Friendly locals & staff. The food is gastropub. It's good but the best food is the pubgrub - other options are too safe & lack depth of flavour.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WeeImp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We met up with our son and his friend at The Farmers Ulverston after they had completed walking The Cumbria Way. They had enjoyed two delicious meals. They also appreciated the great service they received from friendly staff. Unfortunately our son left his spectacles on the table when we left but the staff kindly posted them to him. Thank you so much to Sharon Chattaway and the rest of the staff. We can definitely recommend The Farmers Arms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in August 2013. We were in Room 2, which they refer to as the "middle room". The good points are that the room was recently refurbished, had a separate toilet with a sink and a separate shower room with another sink. A hallway of sorts was located between the two with a desk containing a hot water pot and some instant coffee and tea. The cost was 85 GBP per night as advertised which is a bit steep based on other accommodations available in Ulverston. There is a large flat screen TV on the wall in the bedroom. This was room only, no breakfast. Breakfast can be purchased but doesn't start until 9AM. In spite of what the Farmers Arms web site says the room is NOT on the 1st floor...it's on the 2nd. The bed is a queen bed not a king as stated on the web site. The entire area is quite small. It is extremely noisy at night because it is located over their own bar and two across the street. It sounds as if 100 or so people are in the room; especially beginning on Thursday nights and getting louder on Friday and Saturday nights. The most frustrating thing was that there is practically no servicing of the room. I asked at the bar about getting new towels after two nights and one of the bar tenders said we would get full service the next day. I asked how often the room would be serviced and he replied that "...it's your room" which, I guess meant we were responsible for cleaning it. We didn't get service the next day so I went to the bar that night and we did get service the following day and that was it for the entire 9 night stay. During the last 2 days we were there, two large bags of, apparently, laundered towels blocked the stairs leading up to our room, which is, by the way, the only room on the 2nd floor. We stayed at Church Walk House down the street 2 years ago. Their rooms, although older, are very comparable to the Farmers and cost only 65 GBP per night with a full cooked to order English breakfast! There are plenty of other choices in Ulverston that are better than the Farmers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
0.0 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
71 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
242 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
330 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
323 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms

Property: The Farmers Arms
Address: Market Place, Ulverston LA12 7BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Farmers Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Farmers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing