We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Don't want to come home!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Cottage

Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Apples from the Orchard Cottage garden View across Orchard Cottage's field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Apples from the Orchard Cottage garden
View across Orchard Cottage's field
Sitting area with bed settee
You will see lots of bird life at Orchard Cottage
Wood burning stove for cosy nights by the fire
Lovely comfortable bed looking out over Orchard Cottage field
Beautiful Portmerion tableware
Wooden chess set
View from the kitchen into the living room
Front of Orchard Cottage with apple trees in blossom on the right
View across the wooden deck
Very comfortable couches to relax on
Orchard Cottage
View from the side of Orchard Cottage with Hoad Monument in the distance
View from the back deck
Small shower room with toilet
Orchard Cottage behind the blossoming trees - taken in the month of May
Writing bureau with information on the local area
Check out the lovely comments in our visitors book in the vestibule
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sammystat...
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't want to come home!”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had an absolutely lovely week in this cottage. Very cosy with beautiful views. Jenny has been brilliant. Even did some washing for us! Watching the birds while eating breakfast was lovely. Definitely would return again. Location was great. We came with a 6yr old (who has loved every minute!) and a baby and had more than enough room . Lots of boards games to play.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2015
Thank you for the review and your kind comments, so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, your first as a family of four. The birds are fascinating aren't they. I went in to clean the other day and found myself sitting at the table for a while watching them and using the bird book to try and identify one that I didn't recognise. Look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie A
Polegate
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A week of total relaxation in wonderful accommodation, and perfect surroundings. We were truly overwhelmed and can't wait to return. A big thank you to Jenny for making us very welcome and comfortable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2015
Thank you so much for reviewing Orchard Cottage, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry I wasn't there to see you before you left but as you know I had a commitment to the local Retro Rendezvous event happening in Ulverston that morning so unfortunately missed you. I look forward to seeing you at the cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elise C
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Both me and my boyfriend stayed for a couple of nights last week and loved it here.

The cottage is lovely and very private. It was cosy and clean, although the pictures represent this place well we both agreed it felt even more spacious than we'd imagined it would be.

The little extras that Jenny had thought to include in this place made it all the more lovely, and we'll definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
Thanks for the glowing review and I look forward to welcoming you on a return visit. Yes, the cottage is spacious and ideally suits two people. I see you never tried the fire, perhaps next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A perfect cottage - delightful.”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a perfect place to stay to visit the lakes and surrounding attractions. The cottage is so delightful and comfortable with everything you need, watching all the wild birds feeding right outside the windows was amazing we saw lots of different birds ... Goldfinch, bullfinch, long tail tits along with blue and great tits it was fabulous. Definately will visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review Orchard Cottage. Yes the birds are fabulous. The woodpecker came today, I feel, although not a rare species, quite honoured when he visits. Look forward to seeing you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp G
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent New Year in this cosy cottage and enjoyed our stay. Jenny was very helpful and friendly. Had wonderful mornings watching the birds on the trees outside while having breakfast and spent evenings with the wood fire burning. The location is perfect, close to everything the area has to offer, but out of the way enough to be quiet. A very relaxing break. We would definitely return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Orchard Cottage and for your kind comments. I agree the beautiful views and the wood burning stove are hard to match. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poupouxio...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and very cosy cottage”
Reviewed December 22, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the cottage. Thanks Jenny for waiting us as we arrived late and for lighting up the log fire and make the cottage more welcoming and cosy. The cottage has everything you need.. We spend our 2 nights near the log fire and enjoyed it a lot. The internet was better of what I was expecting.. Thanks again for the cookies Jenny.. They were delicious..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2014
No problem to accept late arriving guests as I live next to the cottage and would always light the fire on a cold winters nights a couple of hours before arrival.
Pleased you enjoyed the shortbread, I had just made big batches for Christmas. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0bert56
Burnley
1 review
“Peaceful, Comfortable, Great Views.”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage is conveniently situated close to lakes Windermere and Coniston in a really quiet position in the countryside. It has tremendous views and is perfect for a peaceful relaxing holiday.

The internet was very useful for planning nights/days out and Jenny looked after us without being intrusive.

A perfect chill-out break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How peaceful it was.
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Orchard Cottage. We love it when people love it as much as us and yes the views are pretty special and cottage a good base to reach north and south lakes easily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing