We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely traditional dog friendly pub - great pies!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagles Head

Eagles Head
Ranked #10 of 69 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional dog friendly pub - great pies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a very enjoyable lunch here last week - my husband is still raving about his steak pie! The landlord, who was moving on a couple of days later, told us the new owners were in the kitchen learning the ropes - obviously they'd mastered them, as the food was excellent. I had a (massive) jacket potato with prawns served in a spicy mayo, which was really tasty. Really nice pub, definitely one we'll go back to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    51
    14
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Called at the pub a few weeks ago just for a drink, decided to go back to sample the food. Have to say we weren't disappointed. The game pie was delicious, possibly the best i have ever had, plenty filling. Good portions for all the meals we ordered.
The weekend that we went it was the owners last weekend amd the new owners were also there being shown the ropes. Just hope the new owners maintain the high standards that have been set.
Just two small negatives, when we called in for a drink there was a pool table in there which has now gone, much to the disappointment or our daughter.
And with such good food just wish the meals had been served with 'real' chips not oven chips.
Good luck to the new owners.

Helpful?
1 Thank leannedoris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Groesfordd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Dined here last Saturday night. Food excellent and owners very welcoming. Great Pub good beers nice fire. Great atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Quantr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good beer shame about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

excellent beer, food in the evenings, pretty poor, dried over cooked steak, dried over cooked sausage, I mean, its not rocket science, steak and chips, sausage and mash, the sausage was lacking on taste, though to find a decent Cumberland sausage in Cumbria is a rarity.

Dont rely on the opening hours, some nights they do food, some nights they don't.
sad really as its a lovely pub, but if they got the food right in the evening people would travel for miles.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jack1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

There is a good choice for both meat eaters and veggies, I have sampled lots of different dishes from the menu and they have all been really good. The service is excellent and the atmosphere really friendly. However you may need to book so it is advisable to phone ahead especially at weekends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagles Head also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
 
Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to Eagles Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing