We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
176
85
28
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
85
28
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak patio doors sea view dog friendly hotel lemon curd sunny day excellent food pub with rooms cooked to perfection bird watchers bird life evening meal home made fantastic views duck my partner varied menu
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 320 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Can't keep us away ! Just love coming here. So relaxing with wonderful views, good food and friendly service. It is a good pub with a conservatory restaurant overlooking Morecambe Bay. Good pub grub served or excellent restaurant menu for dinner.

Room tip: Get a room facing the Bay
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Much prefered to stay here rather than the new Premier inn. Room was clean, fresh and warm, evening meal was good and the following Morning I had a super breakfast. The staff were helpful and the location is great. The sunrise at breakfast was a nice touch too!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Surfbum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

My husband booked this hotel for a two night stay. We had spent two nights in Scotland and wanted to break the journey home by a couple of nights in The Lake District. As my husband is a Laurel and Hardy fan we chose Ulverston to go and see the museum dedicated to Stan Laurel, who had lived there. The hotel is on the outskirts of the town in an area known as Canal Foot. You do have to pass an industrial estate to get to it, but it is well worth it. We were given an up-grade and had a balcony. The views were amazing and it was so quiet. It is a paradise for bird watchers and walkers. Also other Lake District attractions were within easy reach. We received a very warm welcome on arrival and all staff we encountered were very pleasant and could not do enough for us. The food was exceptional and served in either the bar or restaurant, which overlooked the lovely views. Our room was very clean and had adequate storage. The bathroom looked as though it had been recently refurbished and we had a good supply of lovely fluffy towels (even face cloths), small shampoos etc., The first evening we ate in the restaurant and we had a candelabra with lit candles, which was a nice touch. For me, lots of magazines in a little corner next to the bar, where you could sit on a sofa or chair (our favourite spot in the evening after dining). All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very relaxed atmosphere.

Room tip: Definitely rooms that look out towards the water. There is seating on the balcony outside the rooms.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloydvalerie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

As you approach uni go past the GSK plant (next to teh canal. Its a to industrial. But then you get to the canal foot and are rewarded with a fantastic view tour across the bay. Lots of waders ad sea birds.
We stayed for two nights with our two dogs. We had a room with a balcony looking out across te bay that also provided a way in and out for dogs and luggage.
We dined one evening and the food was excellent. Breakfast is good too with willingness to allow me to take my wife some breakfast in our room one morning.

Dogs walk nearby. Lovely spot.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Superb location. Nice walk into Ulverston via the canal. Close to Coniston and Windermere. Food excellent. Breakfast just what you want. Friendly staff. Dog friendly rooms available. Car parking next to rooms

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ianphilterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews