We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 28 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Lunches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ideally situated at Canal Foot with panoramic views across Morecambe Bay. The bar area is a great place to take lunch after completing the Canal Walk, the food is much better than usual pub grub. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and dogs are allowed which is a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnydipper884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    64
    23
    13
    11
See reviews for
21
141
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were taken to the Bay Horse by our in laws and I was very taken by the location. It shares beautiful views over the bay. I loved the decor as I entered and was greeted by staff member just passing by welcoming us to the Bay Horse. We were shown to our table in the conservatory and what a view. The staff were very attentive and the choice on the menu was excellent and there is a specials board too. The restaurant was busy and the chatter was polite and warming. People around us were enjoying their afternoon and it showed on their faces. The waiter got us settled and got drinks organised and gave us time to pick from the menu. The choice was excellent. We had a varied selection from the menu and no complaints or I wish I had that. Beautiful food, excellent service. This is a must food lovers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shackleton_CVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for my partners birthday, in a room overlooking the bay. Ok the room décor was a little dated but it was clean and comfortable and the balcony and view more than compensated.
We had drinks by the open fire in the bar then went through for dinner and I have to say the food was absolutely amazing, words cannot describe how good it was. The hosting was also excellent and my partner was presented with a stunning dessert complete with happy birthday message in it.
After a cosy nights sleep we had breakfast in the conservatory which was equally plentiful. First rate experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked our 10-day stay online, but had to change rooms several times, in order to fit our stay around others who had booked much earlier. The wonderful, friendly staff moved everything for us while we were out for the day, and it turned out to be fun, because each room of this cozy B&B is different. In some we had a lovely view of the water, and in others, it was a lush green view with occasional chickens clucking outside the window. The rooms were clean and comfortable, smaller than the US hotel rooms we are used to, but with lovely touches that made us feel welcome. The breakfasts are included, and include a wide variety of delicious options. We will DEFINITELY stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that rooms facing the water will have very bright morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm, Wisbech United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I returned home yesterday after a 2 night stay - we both agreed (that made a change) that it was one of the most enjoyable weekend stays that we could remember. From the moment when we checked in the friendliness of the staff and the wonderful relaxed atmosphere seemed to wash over us we proceeded to chill out. Dinner in the restaurant which overlooks the bay was simply an experience never to be forgotten - from the beautifully piped "Swans" which sat in the Butter dish(it seemed a shame to use them to spread on the lovely home made rolls) to the Coffee and Chocolates at the end of the meal - it was just superb. The Fillet Steak was without doubt the finest I have ever had the pleasure to eat and the Stilton Sauce (which wasn't on the menu but was no problem to organise for me) was just perfect!. My wife Thelma had the Salmon which she said was exceptional. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful during the evening which seemed to be ramped up a notch when my Whiskey and Chocolate Creme Brulee with Chili Choc biscuits and a scoop of Vanilla ice cream arrived. Most of the Creme Brulees I have ever eaten before have come in small dishes - this came in a large shell shaped dish (probably six inches across) and was absolutely delicious. Having had a fairly long trip up to Ulverston (through choice) a good nights sleep in the compact but spotless room was in order. Awoke to open the French doors to be greeted with a fantastic view across Morecambe Bay complete with the sounds of Warblers, Seagulls etc making up the dawn chorus. Breakfast Saturday morning began with another surprise " Bucks Fizz or Orange Juice?" was the first question asked by Lesley - having never been asked that before at 9.00am in the morning - seemed a shame not to try it. Exceptional choice available for Breakfast - went for the traditional good old fry-up which was again very very good. They even cut the crusts off the toast! After a day in the Lakes - Dinner again was superb - had to have the Fillet again - just as good as the night before. There is a large number of very good Restaurants/Hotels etc in the Lake District which shine but in my humble opinion none shine as bright as this one - we will be making a regular return (we live 275 miles away) probably around every 6-8 weeks and try and persuade some of our friends to share the experience. Thanks to Lesley and her brilliant staff for a most wonderful experience - see you soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Th.e Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant is in Ulverstonthe rThe room was clean and comfortable and was over looking and the sea food excellent and the staff were really friendly and helpful. My daughter had booked this as a surprise for our Anniversary and was a perfect choice Well reccomended

Room Tip: Best to chose a a sea view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marje G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 25th July 2014 while on business. Had a room with a sea view which was stunning! Staff were very helpful and friendly. My only gripe would be the restaurant main meals are on the pricey side. Breakfast (included) was great! I will definitely recommend it all the same!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the sea view, stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
0.0 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Ulverston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
6.9 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.8 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#10 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Canal Foot, Ulverston LA12 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Horse Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing