We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“satisfied customer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 28 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“satisfied customer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have been to the Bay Horse with my husband numerous times over the last few years.The approach through Glaxo doesnt bother us at all ( this being mentioned on other peoples reviews) as we know what is waiting for us at the other end. A stunning view over the estuary and a very friendly, helpful staff at the hotel itself. The food is tremendous and if you like your steaks you will not be disappointed. The staff are extremely helpful from the moment you arrive until your departure.The rooms are comfortable and all have en- suite facilities. I for one will be back very soon.I intend to introduce my friend to the whole Bay Horse experience.

Room Tip: sea view room recommended
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    64
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
21
142
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I did a lot of research before booking this hotel and read the reviews so that I could make an informed decision before paying more than average for a room.

The approach to the hotel is as horrible as reported by others and such a disappointment after a five hour drive; you must drive through one of the largest chemical plants in the UK which Glaxo thoughtfully dumped in an otherwise picturesque setting. There is no excuse for this being allowed by the local council and it is not only a blot on the area during the day but belches noise and light pollution throughout the night as well. Fortunately you do not hear/see this from the hotel once you are inside.

It is therefore a slight relief to come out of the other side of this monstrosity and find a relatively quiet shoreline area and turning point. On one side there are the rustic (derelict!) canal lock gates which terminate the disappointingly industrial looking canal, and on the other the Bay Horse Hotel. The bar/reception area is cosy enough and a welcoming fire crackled in an out of place modernist slate fireplace where almost certainly an inglenook remains to be discovered. Joe the Hungarian waiter welcomed me with a warning about his poor English but it wasn't too bad and I soon warmed to his smiley and efficient manner. I was told my room wasn't ready yet and offered a drink which I was disappointed to find later that I was charged for; even more disappointed to find out that a pint of lager costs £4.20!

My room was a huge disappointment. It was tiny, had a twin singles and not a double as booked. There was damp and mould inside the door reveals and condensation running freely down the sliding doors. There being no window there is no way to securely ventilate the room which soon became stuffy and even damper when occupied. The room appears to have been furnished from eBay and the owners have done themselves a huge disservice in so much as if they had spent just a little more even this pokey room could at least be charming. Instead it is as previously mentioned in other reviews 'tacky'. A nasty cheap clock radio sits beside one of a pair of really rubbish Perspex ball lights, one of which is repaired with cardboard. A trouser press reduces the room beside the bed by even more than the overall room dimensions. Charity shop furniture houses a tea making tray that lacked some biscuits which might have been a nice touch. There are only two handy sockets, one for the telly and one for a light so the kettle must be plugged into the trouser press socket and placed on the floor. There is no central light so the three table lights are needed at most times. The pictures on the walls are random cheap prints with no apparent theme or colour scheme that do nothing to enhance what is fast becoming a major let down.

The bathroom is equally small but does have a decent metal bath although the panel was visibly rotten. The shower is powerful enough but this is largely down the diminutive size of the shower head - stick your finger over the end of a hose and that too will seem more powerful! And why oh why would anyone think that a shower curtain is acceptable in a room that costs £80 per night out of season for sole occupancy? The curtain of course attached itself to me in a slimy grip as soon as I got into the bath to shower and then proceeded to drip water at either end onto the tiled floor. A further nuisance was the noise from the ancient extractor fan that sounded a little like the engines of a large cruise ship.

Outside the single glazed sliding doors there is a balcony as reported by others; it is not however private as suggested and I unfortunately shared mine with others who liked to use it for smoking and noisily drinking from cans of beer all evening. Below the balcony there is a convenient parking area and beyond that the beach so the views are good.

Another cause of concern is the food. Not the quality, that appeared to be very good for the few meals I enjoyed there, but the price. There is very little on the Lite Bites bar menu but this quest for one considers £6 for a sandwich too much when they are a very simple sandwich with salad garnish. I only chose the sandwich because I really could not justify paying £18 for fish and chips in what is after all just a pub despite its pretentions to be something other than that. Or £27 for a steak however good they might be. And that is the main problem with the Bay Horse. It would like to be a fine restaurant/hotel but the amenities simply are not good enough and so it is just an overpriced pub that seems to rely heavily on press clippings and awards that date as far back as 2004.

But credit where credit is due and I hope that you are still reading because the Bay Horse does do some things well. The members of staff are all very friendly and efficient largely due to the efforts of the front of house manageress who evidently sets higher standards for the service than for the building and facilities. I would also mention how nice it is to find fruit in public areas, what a luxury to have the bedclothes turned down at night and how good the breakfasts are.

So the previous reviews are all pretty accurate in their own ways and your enjoyment of a stay here just depends what things are important to you and how much you are prepared to pay for them. If you want value for money then this is not the place for you. But if you want fine dining (at a cost) with great views from the conservatory style restaurant then you might enjoy a stay here if you can turn a blind eye to the tired surroundings.

This reviewer for one will not be returning.

Room Tip: The rooms are not great so it is worth the extra for a sea view just so that you can get some enjoym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterandlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our visit here was a great disappointment. It was all so tacky. The bedroom we had was so dated and cheap. Glossy pre printed large format menus are for Pizza Hut. The pretentiousness of a set meal time was laughable. The steaks we had were fantastic but everything else was uninspiring. The Good Food Guide must be having a laugh if it rates this place. There is a lovely view from the Dining Room but zero atmosphere and the clumpy footfall of the server didn't help.
Highlight of our evening was a chat with the delightful Hungarian waitress whilst stood at the bar having a last drink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southwestscorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We thought the sat nav had taken us to the wrong place as the approach was via a large factory. But then we found the wonderful views across the estuary and the small Hotel right on the front. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The bedrooms are small but adequate with a balcony to sit outside and enjoy the stunning views and sunrise. The bathroom en suite was very nice with lovely large fluffy pink towels. Food was top quality. Good walk along the canal nearby. Spent a wet morning at The Laurel and Hardy Museum in Ulverston, excellent for fans.
We really enjoyed our 4 night stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettleham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A warm welcome, attentive staff and wonderful food. A delightful stay in a cosy little hotel with amazing views over Morecombe Bay from our own private balcony. We travelled up from Blackpool hoping to get ' far from the madding crowd' and we certainly weren't disappointed.
We found the rooms to be comfortable with some interesting books about the local area.
The standard of service was good and food of high quality. Breakfast was equally good and caters for all tastes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

When recently we were looking for a one night stay before a Lake District Wedding we were attending the next day we had no idea of the existence of this delightful hotel. It was a very lucky chance that I spotted it on the internet.

I was born and bred in nearby Barrow in Furness and so I was already aware of the mysterious charm of the Furness Peninsular but this lovely, friendly hotel in a most stunningly beautiful location came as a very special surprise to me.

The hotel looks out onto the Levens Estuary and the sea beyond.The atmospheric setting is an artist's and photographer's dream.Standing and looking out at the dramatic scene and remembering the history of this spot made me think of the novels of Daphne Du Maurier.

We were warmly welcomed by the manageress and staff of the Bay Horse who were extremely helpful.We loved our room which looked out to a balcony with a panoramic sea view.
The room itself was clean, cosy , comfortable and well equipped as was the bathroom.
The standard of the restaurant, the cuisine and presentation was very high.
We really loved our all too brief stay at The Bay Horse and for me there was a great deal of nostalgia for my roots.

We would certainly recommend to anyone who wants comfort, excellent food and service in a dramatic and unspoilt setting.

P.S. By some strange coincidence, two weeks later on the tiny Greek island of Paxos, we chatted to a fellow holiday maker who suddenly started singing the praises of "this wonderful hotel beside the estuary in Ulveston...."
It was The Bay Horse Hotel of course!

Room Tip: Do ask fora room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChannieBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked this two days beforehand and when we got there we were really impressed. Do not be put off by the approach going past factory as when you arrive there are spectacular views across the Ulverston inlet. Room was at the back overlooking a garden and was clean and comfortable. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Book in for an evening meal, only one sitting which is really beneficial. Meals may look a little pricey but they are really excellent value for money. Good selection of wines also. Breakfast again was really nice, a good selection to choose from. Go for the Bay Horse Platter for a hearty breakfast. All in all a good experience and will definitely go again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have balconies and overlook the vast inlet. In the shade late afternoon but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strakerbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
0.0 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Ulverston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#4 of 5 in Ulverston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#8 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Canal Foot, Ulverston LA12 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Horse Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing