We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese!”
Review of Gillam's

Gillam's
Ranked #15 of 72 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheese!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I came here twice and both times ordered the baked Camembert. It came with lots of lovely bread and vegetables to dip in - delicious. I also had a scone, it wasn't so nice. There was a lovely warm open fire upstairs. This cafe is mainly vegetarian and has a deli attached. Sadly the person serving in the deli didn't bother to smile or say hello, so she lost a sale.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    53
    17
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great afternoon lunch”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I love the atmosphere in this place the menu is excellent the staff are friendly a real classy tea room with lots to look at around the place....truly lovely

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's not vegetarian here...”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Chicken stock is used in the soups, if not other things on the menu. Very young people at work there, sometimes a girl there who can't be more than 11 years old. Rude and callous. Not going again, and other people would be well-advised to do the same, if they're looking for vegetarian food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty but Expensive”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I really do love the products served here. I love the VLT, the dairy free cakes and the natural cola and especially the chilli and lemon aubergine salad with toasted ciabatta and mixed bean chilli with baked potato but I just find it so expensive to eat here. So much so that I stopped visiting about a year ago.

If I just want a coffee and no food it's fine or if I want to pick up some vegan spiced apple cake and bring it home it's fine but for three 'things' on toast and 2 hot drinks and 3 natural cola's it costs around £25 and if we go for 2 servings of chilli and baked potato with eggs on toast and 3 drinks it's around £30 plus - which in a cafe - is a lot for simple food.

NO complaints at all about the staff, they are fabulously helpful and the food and drink and it's quality is fantastic - I'm just put off by the pricing.

I'll go again at some point no doubt though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amborambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Brilliant little cafe - superb choice of coffee !”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Friendly little place, with fascinating range of coffees & teas. And the food (vegetarian) is pretty good too. The scones & jam & cream were spectacular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gillam's also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to Gillam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing