We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lunch”
Review of Fishermans Arms

Fishermans Arms
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous lunch”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I recently visited The Fishermans, I had a fabulous lunch lots of variety on the menu and reasonable prices (if its to cheap i tend to worry about the quality)I also has a really nice glass of sauvignon which was very good value

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    62
    20
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday lunch”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have a delicious lunch, the menu offered many choices, the food was beautifully cooked and presented. Potions were more that generous and very affordable. The décor is fresh, clean, and relaxing. We were given a warm, friendly and courteous welcome by the staff and owners Ian and Andrea. We will certainly be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New year's Eve triumph”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

When we arrived the place was full and vibrant and our welcome warm and friendly. A good start to what was to be a superb evening. Our large party was seated in the restaurant which was tastefully decorated for the festive season but the quality of the décor and furnishings was still evident.
The special New Year's eve menu was reasonably priced, varied and with just the right amount of quirkiness to mark the occasion. The orders were taken and meals served efficiently by friendly staff. The food was well presented and of good quality and all of our party, some local and others from London and abroad, enjoyed their meals. It's always a good sign when recipes are requested on the way out of a restaurant!
Well done to the Fisherman's - a true New Year's Eve triumph.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smart, welcoming and good food”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I travelled up from the midlands to Barrow in a week ago and our whole family went to the Fishermans for dinner on a Saturday. Having read some of the negative reviews here, I find them very confusing. The varied menu was excellent, I had steamed crab dumplings as a starter and guinea fowl for my main course, both were delicious with winter vegetables which were cooked "just right", not raw but not mushy either. There was also a very good wine list at very reasonable prices. The service was efficent and friendly, the decor is smart and everything was spotless. We would definately go there again and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worried-uk-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dullness”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The desperately dull food matches the desperately dull atmosphere. A recent family meal there was a great disappointment. Grey beef, some awful kind of industrial stuffing sliced off a roll, tasteless vegetables, rubbery un-chewable turkey skin. I could go on but you get the picture. For £12-£15 for a main course there are far better places to go in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank PubConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermans Arms also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to Fishermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing