We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”

The Stan Laurel Inn
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my first visit to the Stan Laurel, the main bar has plenty of character. There is also a separate dinning room, it happened to be a friday and offer of the day is fish chips and peas for a fiver. it was great value and delicious my only gripe was the mushy peas were a little on the stodgy side. The menu has plenty of choice and they alsohave buy one get one free offers during the week. There is a great choice of real ales on tap which I look forward to sampling when I leave the car at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    56
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not open”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

went to the inn for a drink after walking our sock off. unfortunately they were just closing so missed out again. it looked very nice though and we will return

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susancater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing lasagne!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

For some reason we have only recently started going here, despite knowing about it for years. And god knows why! The food is excellent - really fresh and tasty homecooked pub grub in a friendly informal atmosphere. The lasagne is one of the best I have had (and I am somewhat of a lasagne expert) and the brownie with ice cream is delicious! A firm favourite.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rachaeldrinkwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Amazing, and just as expected!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went here with hubby and friends on Saturday. Had an amazing meal - all 4 of us. All food excellent, fresh, hot and overall delicious.
Atmosphere was really good. Anyone would be hard pressed to do better anywhere else in the location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous Soup and Sarnies”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

So you're south of the Lakes on the peninsulas and you fancy a pint of local real ale or similar and a bite to eat..... go to the Stan Laurel. Homemade soup of generous proportions and cheese and bacon sandwiches on granary bread - all for a fiver. Convivial atmosphere and so close to the main road through Ulverston. Hope you enjoy it, we did!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimStretton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stan Laurel Inn also viewed

Ulverston, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Lake District
Ulverston, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Lake District
 

Been to The Stan Laurel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing