We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great second choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naaz

Naaz
Ranked #33 of 69 Restaurants in Ulverston
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mossley
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great second choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Picked this after walking out of the British Raj due to their appalling service.
Thankfully this was a far better experience. Attentive waiters and efficient service too. Tasty curries and nice naan. Would def revisit

Helpful?
1 Thank Gshaneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    16
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very stressy meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We arrived at 7.45 on a Sunday and accepted a half hour wait as the place was busy. Unfortunately we then had a further 3/4 hour wait for our meal during which time there were two arguments between the waiters and adjoining tables both of whom walked out. The food was OK except for our lamb dish which was nasty - possibly reheated once too often? Lamb oddly pungent and inedible. To be fair the waiters were polite and apologetic and we only paid for part of the meal, but we were very uncomfortable with the stressy atmosphere and the waiting. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tampopo186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Back to the Naaz..again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Booked a table for 6 on Easter Saturday though when we arrived at 6pm there was plenty of space and though it began to fill up by 8 you still could have got in without booking.
For over three years now the Naaz has been the only Indian in Ulverston we use due its consistant quality and service. The restaurant is set on two connecting floors, with the upper part looking on to the street. There is a comfortable bar area to have a drink in if you are waiting for a take away.
The food was great as usual- my wife always goes for and reccommends the chicken tikka shashlik - but it's worth noting that if you ask for something medium it can turn out to be on the milder side, to my taste anyway. Service is quick and friendly. Council car park round the back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Scrummy curry in Ulverston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Family of four - good welcome, lovely table and ambience in the restaurant. Fabulous garlic south Indian chicken, butter chicken, light fluffy naans.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyadventurersha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I went here on a sunday night and they have a discount of 30%. Service was helpful and friendly and efficent. I had a lamb rogan which was excellent, my friend had a chicken balti which was also good. Selection of Nann breads is superb. Would go back again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naaz also viewed

Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to Naaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing