We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing surprise in the south Cumbrian landscape”

Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre is an internationally renowned centre for meditation, where everyone is welcome to enjoy a peaceful environment or join in the many programmes offered throughout the year. Whether you are looking for a day visit to the Buddhist Temple, house or grounds, an introduction to Buddhist meditation, or in depth courses and retreats, Manjushri KMC offers an enjoyable and meaningful experience. Daily free 15 minute guided meditations held in the World Peace Temple, everyone welcome. Each day there is a guided meditation at 12.30pm and 2pm.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A refreshing surprise in the south Cumbrian landscape”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Enjoyed our visit here. The building is like a modern church. Very light and airy with a peaceful atmosphere. The Buddhist statues and artifacts make the difference. For now, the building looks and feels very 'new' and a bit clinical for that. I would have liked to experience a 'service' there to get a real sense of it. Maybe next time. There is a good cafe in the old building staffed by monks and nuns from the community, which served some great cakes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank seanog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    51
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A peaceful spot”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited here mid September on a blustery but dry day with 2 children. Enjoyed a walk through the woods to the beach, a look around the beautiful temple and a nice vege lunch in the cafe. A lovely peaceful spot, would probably be regular visitors if we lived closer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylersplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The gothic Priory is amazing, although there are no tours around it. The Temple is beautiful and the Buddhists were friendly and answered all my questions. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaygirl060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place with a secret beach! Visiting is a must!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We found this with ease using the sat nav. Its in a beautiful location. The car park was large & free. The huge old victorian building is beautiful with the stained glass windows. You can walk round as you please and there is no charge to enter the grounds or the victorian building. Inside the victorian building is a cafe, shop, toilets & halls. The inside is beautiful and the statues are gorgeous. There are so many leaflets and free information.

We walked round to the temple and it really is breath taking. You just feel so relaxed and its really magical. There was a talk on so we didnt want to enter and disturb. We decided to have a walk around as the weather was beautiful. We noticed a little sign that said "beach walk". So we went into the woods and followed the sign. It was a lovely 10 minute walk through the woods with statues at certain points. Kids will love it! Then you come out on a private beach. Its lovely. As mentioned the weather was gorgeous so we sat on the beach and just watched the sun glistening on the water. There were a few people walking past but it was so tranquil and lovely. We will definitley be returning with kids & dogs next time its a lovely day. Free parking & a lovely walk to the beach, you can spend all day on the beach! I cant wait to return. It's a great little spot that most people dont know exists.

We then walked back to the temple and went inside. Even though we are not religious at all it was just a spectacular place to visit. There is a donation tin at the entrance which we gave a couple of quid to - We were surprised they hadnt charged for car park or entrance or the beach walk so were more than happy to give a couple of quid. We took pictures inside and had a good look round.

The books & leaflets available are not about god and religion, its just about being happy within yourself and making sure your calm and relaxed within. I took a few leaflets that had great mottos on the front which i keep in my handbag. Some of them are very true! We didnt feel like anything was being shoved down our throat - Like religion or their ways. In fact no one bothered us at all. We were free to roam around as we pleased.

We popped into the cafe before leaving and there was a limited choice but it was very reasonable priced & what we did have was tasty. You can eat inside or outside, the grounds are beautiful.

A fantastic place, very calming & relaxing and cant wait to return for a day on the hidden beach!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Smaybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peacfull”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Although my husband and I are not at all religious we found this to be a relaxing and friendly day out

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenRadtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre also viewed

 

Been to Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing