We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treasure !”

The General Burgoyne
Ranked #19 of 72 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $17
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are an old style Country Pub based in the village of Urswick, nearby to Ulverston, Dalton and Barrow. We offer a friendly atmosphere with a fully stocked bar. For those wanting to dine we offer a pub classics menu with an edge, some items include Cajun Chicken, Steaks, Gammon, Lasagne, Sausage, Burgers, Stir Frys and Homemade Pies. The venue also offers an early bird menu served Wed - Sat between 5pm and 6pm. We are dog friendly in the bar area and welcome families into the establishment. The pub also has BT sport, pool table and dart board as well as several board games and cards available to add to the family experience
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real treasure !”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

There is always a warm, friendly welcome at the General Burgoyne and all of the the dishes are cleverly thought out, vary with the seasons and are then executed to perfection, with a beer and wine list to match !!

Craig, Louise and all of their excellent staff have created a real treasure here (I hope the Michelin judges are reading this !!!) and we will definitely keep coming back for more :^)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It is so nice when customers appreciate the time and effort it takes to plan a menu and to provide quality dishes with a personal touch. Glad to hear you'll continue to return- we look forward to welcoming you!

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    61
    39
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with amazing food!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Called in here after searching for places to eat in the local area was made to feel very welcome very cosy pub with great atmosphere would recommend this place to all

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R19ckp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us at the General Burgoyne. We aim to make every guest feel very welcome in our cosy country pub and are pleased to have succeeded. We look forwad to welcoming you back in the future ;-)

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Valentine night”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic. Meal was great service couldnt be faulted. Some where always wanted to go. Heard good comments so tried for myself.
It was a fixed starter and sweet with a choice of main course. Also looked at menu for non valentines evening and that looked as nice. Was nice to try food that you wouldn't have otherwise chosen. .
Overall fantastic and my wife liked it too.. brownie points for me

Helpful?
Thank Kitfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at our cosy country pub. We're so pleased you and your wife enjoyed your valentines meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food-spot on!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had the steak, cooked to perfection. Lovely atmosphere. Great service, will definity go again! +++++

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizkewish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for both your custom and kind words in your recent review. We're pleased you enjoyed your meals and look forward to welcoming you to our cosy country pub in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig & Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Me & my partner have ate here three times now and have had a great eating experience each time. We are one of the pains that didn't book but just walked in, although no room in the main eating area we were shown to the snug area. To be honest we would ask for the snug even if we booked as it is really cosy. Front of house staff were great and food was really good. Look forward to our next visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to the General Burgoyne - no customer is ever a pain - the snug tables are the most popular and for that reason we never reserve them, we always keep them available for people to take a chance at walking in and getting a table - it's how a pub should be - once you start reserving every table in the building you turn into a restaurant not a pub, and we are most certainly a traditional country pub which just happens to serve really great food. We look forward to welcoming you to the General Burgoyne in the future :-)

Kind Regards

Craig & Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The General Burgoyne also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to The General Burgoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing