We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect treat”

The General Burgoyne
Ranked #23 of 74 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $17
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are an old style Country Pub based in the village of Urswick, nearby to Ulverston, Dalton and Barrow. We offer a friendly atmosphere with a fully stocked bar. For those wanting to dine we offer a pub classics menu with an edge, some items include Cajun Chicken, Steaks, Gammon, Lasagne, Sausage, Burgers, Stir Frys and Homemade Pies. The venue also offers an early bird menu served Wed - Sat between 5pm and 6pm. We are dog friendly in the bar area and welcome families into the establishment. The pub also has BT sport, pool table and dart board as well as several board games and cards available to add to the family experience
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went here on a spur of the moment Valentines meal with the wife, was amazing!
Great value, great menu for valentine diners and was looked after very well by the staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DHTG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your valentines meal - the valentines menu was designed as a menu of indulgent treats, so we're glad it hit the mark! Great to hear you were well looked after and the service in our cosy country pub was to your satisfaction - I will pass your comments on to our front of house staff who will be delighted to hear the praise.

We look forward to welcoming you to the General Burgoyne in the future.

Kind Regards
Louise Sherrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 281 of 353 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Food was very good, steaks excellent, John Dory tasty, Pint and Peanuts desert very clever.
But service was awful, took ages, no one asked if we wanted more drinks etc. a real shame as we live local and like good nosh. Assume it was bank holiday staff problems so will probably give it another chance.
And that £1 charge for using a credit card when our bill was £100 REALLY grates and left a sour taste. It would be a shame if such nonsense persisted and spoiled such a potentially great place. Proprietor needs to leave the kitchen or find someone who knows Front of House. So close......

Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

So sorry your experience didn't live up to your expectations.

As you didn't feel able to raise your concerns in person and chose the rather impersonal medium of trip advisor please allow me to address your concerns:

We're pleased you enjoyed your meals, but as landlord and chef, if Craig were to leave the kitchen as you suggest, we would no longer be able to provide the style and quality of food that we currently do.

Easter weekend has been very busy and we were unfortunately let down by one of our front of house staff who called in sick at very short notice. We do provide full table service, with our staff offering extra drinks, desserts, coffee....I can only apologise that you were not offered more drinks at your table. Had you mentioned you'd like to place a drinks order to one of our staff they would have been only too happy to oblige.

The speed of service is dictated in part by how busy the kitchen is with orders. Once you place your order it enters a queuing system and is dealt with in turn by our small kitchen team. Therefore, the busier the pub is and the more orders we have on, the longer it takes, although I am certain that no table waited for more than 30 minutes for their main course, which we consider an acceptable time. We do not do fast food, just good food as fast as we can.

The credit card charge is a tricky one which often leaves us pondering. Your credit card company charges us 2% to process your payment. Do we incorporate this charge into every customers bill, thereby penalising those who choose to pay for their meal immediately by means of cash or debit card (no charge, we absorb this as it is a significantly lower charge to us) or do we ask for a small contribution from those customers who choose to postpone their payment by using a credit facility. Not sure which way to go on this one.

Your comments have been constructive and have given us some food for thought and perhaps raised a retraining issue. We do hope you visit the General Burgoyne again to enjoy quality food in relaxed surroundings......

Kind Regards,
Louise Sherrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We held our daughters christening here and the team took fantastic care of us - right through from the initial planning through to the delivery on the day. So many of our friends and family commented on what a wonderful venue it was and how delicious the food had been. Would certainly recommend and Urswick is a lovely setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FergieTA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank You for your review and kind words Anna. We are pleased you enjoyed your christening celebrations. Our newly refurbished function room is just the right sort of venue fr celebrations such as yours.

I will pass your comments on to the rest of our team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the General Burgoyne on future visits.

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a find - I did my homework on Trip Advisor before visiting Cumbria to take my mum for a Mothers Day meal, The General Burgoyne had some great reviews so I rang and booked a table, the fact that they were busy and couldn't fit us in till 8.30 didn't put me off, I thought it was a good sign of a popular restaurant. I loved the atmosphere on arrival, bustling, dark and real old country pub-ish, we found a lovely seat near the bar, good quality wine by the glass, which not many establishments seem to manage and very attentive waitress service. Once ushered into the conservatory the food didn't disappoint, great quality, couldn't fault anything. Well done I can't wait to return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Biffnteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. We're big believers that house wine by the glass should be very good - it needs to be an easy drinking god all rounder, and I think we fulfill those criteria with our 3 whites, 3 reds and a rose.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our cosy country pub - keep your eyes on the news - we're front runners for The Good Food Guide North West Readers Restaurant of the Year!! Up against Manchester and Liverpool restaurants!! Who'd have thought that of a little country pub?!

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place really is a template of what a good country pub should be. We went here recently with friends on a Saturday night, and we were all really impressed. We arrived a little early to enjoy a drink in the snug and study the menu. There was a good wine list and selection of local beer on tap. We stayed here enjoying the open fire until our starters was ready.

The dining area was nice and informal, set in a conservatory just off the main bar area. Am not sure I liked the low level music being played in the background, but that is just a personal preference, but it was not loud enough to drown out conversation and was barely noticeable.

For starter, I had the chicken liver parfait from the specials board which was light and airy as a good parfait should be. It was accompanied by a good bread, dressed leaves and a beetroot chutney. I got to try the smoked chicken and chorizo risotto as well, which was equally as good, with the chicken not overly smoked as can sometimes be the case. For main, we both had the fillet steak which was meltingly tender, and cooked perfectly rare as requested. We both chose the traditional garnish of chips and onion rings, although the more virtuous could have roast Mediterranean vegetables as an alternative. It was certainly one of the best steaks I have had in a long time.

The dessert menu was a real highlight. It was good to see the desserts had been given as much thought and consideration as the rest of the menu, as so often you eat a good meal only to be presented with a list of ice creams and boring crumbles or pies. Not here though. I settled on the orange panna cotta with rhubarb, and the OH had the Peanuts and Pint dessert. Both were excellent and presented really well, as indeed was the rest of the food. The wait team were really friendly throughout keeping us topped up with drinks throughout the evening. They will even arrange you a taxi home, as the mobile signal (for me at least) was non-existent !

I wish this place was my local, but being 300 miles away, I will have to make do with the occasional visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Wow! Thank you for such a lovely review!! So pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening, and to be described as the 'Perfect Country Pub' is such a compliment! We look forward to seeing you again soon, even if you do live 300 miles away! We have a couple of customers who live well over 200 miles away who consider us their 'local' due to the warm welcome they always receive and the fact we always remember them when they visit.

Thanks again for your kind words and your interest in the General Burgoyne

Kind Regards
Louise Sherrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The General Burgoyne also viewed

Ulverston, Lake District
Ulverston, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Lake District
Ulverston, Lake District
 

Been to The General Burgoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing