We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Alternative Pub!”

The General Burgoyne
Ranked #18 of 72 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are an old style Country Pub based in the village of Urswick, nearby to Ulverston, Dalton and Barrow. We offer a friendly atmosphere with a fully stocked bar. For those wanting to dine we offer a pub classics menu with an edge, some items include Cajun Chicken, Steaks, Gammon, Lasagne, Sausage, Burgers, Stir Frys and Homemade Pies. The venue also offers an early bird menu served Wed - Sat between 5pm and 6pm. We are dog friendly in the bar area and welcome families into the establishment. The pub also has BT sport, pool table and dart board as well as several board games and cards available to add to the family experience
DALTON, CUMBRIA, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Alternative Pub!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We are both local to the area and decided to try here for somewhere that was a little bit different. This is what we found...
Lovely surroundings and furnishings. We sat near the warm fire which was very cosy and ambient.
The food was all perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Everything was seasoned well.
We had Confit of Duck, Rarebit for starters.
Haddock Florentine, Sirlon Steak for mains. (Steak was excellent and cooked perfectly).
For puddings we had Orange Pannacota and bf had the Traditional Peanuts and a pint. Both were fun and very enjoyable!
Staff were polite and attentive.
Overall an excellent evening and will be definitely coming back!
Go here if you want a pub with a difference and you know you can get quality food and service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VICKY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our cosy country pub. We do indeed strive to produce the best quality dishes using top quality local seasonal produce, something a little bit different to the standard pub fayre. Thank you for your comments on service - I shall pass them on to our front of house staff. Glad you enjoyed the dishes you chose and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    61
    39
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston
2 reviews
“Cosy winters evening at The Burgoyne”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great meal at The General Burgoyne. We were there on the first night of their new menu (which had something for everyone) and must say we had a lovely cosy evening and the food was delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the General Burgoyne. Our new menu has been very well received so far, and we're pleased you consider there to be something for everyone - that's excatly the way we planned it - to provide really great food, perhaps something a little bit different to what you may expect from a pub, but still retain the old favourites like fish and chips - after all we are a pub not a restaurant!

Look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards
Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service, recommended”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I went here expecting average food however we were pleasently surprised by the new high quality a la carte menu. The food was a little pricey for us, starters from £4.95 for soup and mains from £10.95-£17.95 and sweets from £4.95 for ice cream. However they participate in The Bay voucher scheme, so it works out very reasonable for the quality of food.

The lasagne was not like any I'd had before but it was fantastic. My wife had the pork which she said was also very good. Both desserts were also fantastic, I had the Peanuts & A Pint (see photo) which was defintely worth trying.

The ale is good and the snug area was very nice to sit in after the meal. The service was great and the landlady (presumably) very welcoming.

The extension to the pub where most of the meals are served seems to be lacking a little atmosphere and next time I think we would prefer to eat in the main pub.

Just a couple of small critisisms. They use paper napkins. If I'm paying quote a lot of money for a nice meal, I want a decent napkin. Also, on a couple of occasions, the cutlery wasn't present for the meals and the waitress leaned across people instead of walking around and serving from the side. Obviously these things can be easily solved.

All in all, a very enjoyable meal and evening and I will definately be going back (but probably with another voucher !)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ste1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank You for your 5 star review of the General Burgoyne. Reviews as comprehensive and constructive as yours are very useful to us in identifying and resolving training issues and giving us further points to consider. In the day to day running of a business, we don't always see the same things a customer does, so it is very helpful to have issues pointed out and highlighted in order for us to give them due thought and consideration.

We are very pleased you and your wife enjoyed your meal, obviously an issue such as price is very subjective as is each individuals perception of the value they put on freshly prepared home cooked dishes using top quality ingredients and local suppliers.

We launch Bay Radio vouchers 2-3 times per year, so do listen out for our next batch. We also publish an e-newsletter every 6 weeks or so which you can sign up to through our website should you wish to keep up to date with whats going on at 'The Burgoyne'.

Thank you again for your kind words, we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best Sunday lunches we've ever had.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

In the 60's & 70's this pub was one of our favourites; No longer living in the area but often call in when we're visiting and went for lunch recently with friends, last minute decision. Couldn't have picked a better place. Food was excellent and staff most welcoming. Loved the assortment of veg. so much nicer than the (often) usual sliced carrots & cold broccoli! Would definitely recommend it and will be there on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and your kind words. We have often been told ours is the best roast in the area. We do strive to do things a little bit differently at the Burgoyne which is why we provide interesting vegetables with our Sunday Roast, dauphinoise potatoes, savoy cabbage, butternut squash, and of course it has to be homemade beef gravy!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton in Furness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently went for an evening meal in their restaurant and it has Lovely food, atmosphere and a roaring open fire. Will definately go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K7JCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalburgoyne, Owner at The General Burgoyne, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for you lovely review - so pleased you enjoyed your time with us - we look forward to seeing you again soon. Good to read your review on Australasia too, I really wanted to eat here on our last trip to M'cr but the rest of our party weren't so keen. Might take Craig for our anniversary!

Kind Regards,
Louise Sherrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The General Burgoyne also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to The General Burgoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing